Skip to content

Happy Easter!! (and the promised birthday picture)

April 12, 2009

23rdbirthdayFirst of all, Happy Easter to all of those who celebrate it. I imagine it’d be rather difficult to hunt for eggs today in my backyard, since it’s snowing. But in my new quest to be positive, I will say it looks very pretty! Now on to more boring, personal things. :p

Ok, so as I’ve said before, I’m completely nonphotogenic. It’s a tragic genetic trait, that has impaired my ability to photographically document many wonderful occasions. So even though my mom took a good ten pictures, there is only one in which I don’t look lopsided or as if I have a billion chins or as if I have no eyes (that’s what happens when I really smile/laugh). And you can actually see my nose piercing! (This is exciting, since it’s so small it almost never shows up in pictures.) Unfortunately, I think I look a bit, well, angry (that’s really my expression wondering when the flash is going to go off), so this probably won’t work as a new profile pic. But I’m bored with my current one, so I’ve scrounged up a couple recent pictures, and I’d like you to tell me which one I should use. (Of course, if you like the birthday one best, feel free to let me know!)
profileoneprofiletwo

I just realised that I must really love the right side of me, since that’s the way I always pose! lol

I’m aware that lately I’ve been in indulging in lots of non-book, navel-gazing-esque activity. And I’m skipping Sunday Salon, although I have internet access and am healthy, for the first time since I began. But I’m trying to be gentle with myself lately, and when I think of the many wonderful books I need to review, I start to hyperventilate a little. Plus, I’m spending most of my energy right now working on laying the groundwork for my future, so I definitely don’t want to make this blog a chore! I’m hoping to get back in the groove soon; if nothing else, I’m sure the Read-a-Thon will get me back there. :) So please just indulge me for the time being!

39 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2009 7:43 am

    Happy Easter! I like the picture with your hair down.

  2. April 12, 2009 7:47 am

    I like the one with your hair down too.

  3. April 12, 2009 7:51 am

    Happy Easter to you too! I like the one with the bright red sweater and the scarf. Although they are all good pictures, I don’t know what you mean about not being photogenic.

  4. April 12, 2009 8:28 am

    I vote for the red sweater and the scarf. But I don’t agree that you are nonphotogenic! Anyway, just being 23 can make a person look good! :–)

  5. April 12, 2009 8:32 am

    My vote is for the red sweater and scarf, too! And don’t worry about not reading too much. You’ve probably read in a few months even more than a lot of us hope to in a year! Enjoy your day and you look lovely, btw. :D

  6. April 12, 2009 8:33 am

    We’ll indulge you anytime, Eva! And I agree with the others. Nonphotogenic? Not!! :-)

    Lezlie

  7. April 12, 2009 8:56 am

    Agreed on the red sweater! Congrats, and have a great day. :)

  8. April 12, 2009 9:05 am

    Very fun to see new pics, they are great! A Happy Easter to you and a very happy, if belated, Birthday!!! I hope your day was wonderful and I hope that the celebration of your day continues throughout this Sunday as well!

  9. April 12, 2009 9:14 am

    I think all the pictures are cute! My pic is probably the one with your hair down, though I do love the red sweater and scarf, too!

  10. April 12, 2009 10:14 am

    They all look beautiful! I like the one with your hair down the best because it is a closer shot.

  11. April 12, 2009 10:43 am

    I think they’re all cute, but my pick is for the one with the red sweater too. You look sassy with your hand on your hip. = )

  12. April 12, 2009 11:32 am

    I probably won’t be any help–I like the first one because it’s more of a close up, and I like the second one because of your pose.

    It’s perfectly OK to do some “navel-gazing” now and then–birthdays are a good time to do that. Happy birthday!

  13. April 12, 2009 12:02 pm

    They are all cute, but I think the red sweater one is best. I don’t know what you mean about not photogenic! Happy belated birthday!

  14. April 12, 2009 1:16 pm

    Un-photogenic? Hah! You’re gorgeous! I like all the photos, but the last one (red sweater, scarf) is my fave – such a bold stylish pose.

    Happy Easter!

  15. April 12, 2009 3:17 pm

    Happy Easter! You look cute in all of these but I’m leaning towards the one in the red sweater. You look all sassy in that one :)

  16. April 12, 2009 4:55 pm

    Well don’t you just look gorgeous! I just had to tell you that :) And I like the picture of you in the gray jacket best :)

  17. April 12, 2009 4:55 pm

    That’s totally not a jacket, is it? :/

  18. April 12, 2009 5:12 pm

    I COMPLETELY understand where you are coming from. I am so not photogenic. I cringe still when I see the pic I finally decided to put on Blogger. And that’s a good one!

    I vote for either the birthday photo or the one with your hair down. The one with the red sweater is too far away and not as focused. And I don’t think you look angry at all in your b-day photo.

  19. April 12, 2009 5:12 pm

    Oh sweetie, you ask tough questions! I’m seriously not sure I can pick a favorite! I can’t believe you don’t think you’re photogenic…I should send you a picture of me! Or better yet, my poor Mom, who happens to be a lovely woman but can’t take a decent picture to save her life. Seriously, it’s a big family joke…you would swear she has to be trying to look so goofy but she’s really not.

    Anyway, as much as I love your book talk and all the wonderful books you add to my wish lists, I absolutely, positively cannot get enough of Eva!!! I love, love, love your personal posts!!! And sweetie, you have definitely got the right idea…DO NOT let this blog stress you out…when you feel like writing about books, write about books, and when you feel like writing about birthdays and vacations and your family, write about birthdays and vacations and your family, and when you feel like writing about fruit salad and continental drift, well, you get the idea. And I’ll be here reading every post!

  20. adevotedreader permalink
    April 12, 2009 5:54 pm

    Happy Easter Eva!

    I’m not photogenic either and hate having photos taken. Of yours, I’d say the one with your hair down is the best.

  21. April 12, 2009 6:10 pm

    Happy Easter! I vote for the hair down pic but I also love the red sweater one too :-) I know what you mean about not being photogenic though…I have to take 20 pics to get one good one too! Although, I’m sure it’s just all in our heads.

    I have a blog award for you!

    You can collect it here: http://readingwritingranting.blogspot.com/2009/04/awards.html

  22. April 12, 2009 6:36 pm

    Eva, no fear! You’re lovely!

  23. April 12, 2009 6:44 pm

    Consider yourself indulged. Never let blogging be a chore! I definitely have my… less substantial weeks, but hey, I can’t be an awesome blogger all the time!

  24. April 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    You are adorable in all of them. Happy Easter, and Happy Birthday!

  25. April 13, 2009 12:45 am

    Happy Easter! You look great on all the pics but I’ve to say the one with your hair down is the best! :)

  26. Chelsea permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:15 am

    All beautiful !!!

    My favorite is with your beautiful hair down.

  27. April 13, 2009 7:12 am

    Happy Easter and Happy Birthday! I think you’re very photogenic, but I understand your dilemma completely. I’m always the one taking the photos (on purpose) so I’m not in any of them. I’m going with the crowd on this one — hair down. You take care of yourself and know that life has a way of working things out. I remember being that age and wondering when my life was going to start. It will happen — don’t worry.

  28. April 13, 2009 7:52 am

    They are all lovely but I really like the one with your hair down.

  29. April 13, 2009 9:45 am

    Unphotogenic? You? NOT!! I like both poses, but am voting for the one with hair down–very sophisticated. Go, lay the groundwork for your future (v. important!). This isn’t going anywhere. And you do need to pamper yourself. We can’t have you getting sick all the time–who would recommend books? ;)

  30. April 13, 2009 10:30 am

    Happy Easter, hope it was a good one, despite the snow! I love the one in the bright pink sweater =)

  31. April 13, 2009 11:22 am

    Wow you are skinny! Happy Easter!

  32. April 13, 2009 11:54 am

    DO NOT use the “Republican” pic with you in the beige sweater. I like the one with the red sweater and the scarf, although I, in my near-blindness, can barely see you. Is it presumptuous of me to ask you to have more close-ups taken and then choose from one of them? You’re so beautiful–I’d like to see a beautiful picture of you.

  33. April 13, 2009 12:43 pm

    You are just LOVELY! :)

  34. April 13, 2009 4:53 pm

    You are too cute! I am loving the pic with the red sweater – va va voom! Sassy lady!

  35. April 13, 2009 6:31 pm

    You are so cute. But I think I like the hair down picture best.

  36. April 13, 2009 7:22 pm

    I think I like the one with the red sweater and scarf best, but they’re all awesome.

  37. April 14, 2009 10:56 pm

    Thanks for all of the votes, comments, and compliments you guys!!! :D You’re all so supportive and awesome; I love this community.

    (And of course I look good in these pictures-I don’t post the 40 bad ones it takes to get a good one!! hehe)

  38. April 16, 2009 10:39 am

    I think you look adorable, but I do understand the feeling of being utterly unphotogenic. Seems like I can never take a good picture and if I do, then my husband decides he wants to make a face. :) I’ll still be posting lots of less than great pictures during the read-a-thon, though–can’t help it!

    You look so stylish and sophisticated in your new profile picture, by the way–very nice.

  39. April 16, 2009 3:38 pm

    Happy Birthday! Look how cute you are!!! Hope you had a great night!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

