Skip to content

“No One’s a Mystery” (thoughts)

March 23, 2009

100 Shots of ShortThis review is part of John’s Short Story Monday event! I read “No One’s a Mystery” by Elizabeth Tallent awhile ago, though I’m just getting around to reviewing it. It’s a very short story: only three pages long, but within that space Tallent really brings her characters alive. A young girl and an older guy are in his pickup in Wyoming, and the story is their conversation. It doesn’t sound like much, but Tallent really brings out the poignancy, hope, and worries that we always bring to relationships. :) The ending is just too gorgeous. I can’t talk about it much more without ruining your reading experience, so why don’t you just go read it (I’ve linked to it) and then come back and tell me if you loved it as much as I did!

Notable Passage (don’t read until you’ve read the story, since this is the ending!)
“In three years I’ll write, `My nipples are a little sore from nursing
Eliza Rosamund.’
“Rosamund. Every little girl should have a middle name she hates.”
” `Her breath smells like vanilla and her eyes are just Jack’s color of
blue.’
“That’s nice.” Jack said.
“So, which one do you like?”
“I like yours,” he said. “But I believe mine.”
“It doesn’t matter. I believe mine.”
“Not in your heart of hearts, you don’t.”
“You’re wrong.”
“I’m not wrong,” he said. “And her breath would smell like your milk,
and it’s kind of a bittersweet smell, if you want to know the truth.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 6:33 am

    Yeah, I definitely get what you mean…it’s amazing what she did with three short pages. It left me feeling a wee bit sad. But I loved it.

  2. March 23, 2009 8:19 pm

    I loved it when I first read it because she put a Rosanne Cash song in it (also the title).

  3. April 7, 2009 12:11 am

    Debi, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Bybee, I didn’t realise that…(I’m musically illiterate).

  4. June 1, 2009 9:37 pm

    I just read it and really liked it. I linked to your review on mine.

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2009/05/short-story-monday-no-ones-mystery-by.html

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

