Skip to content

What Woman Author Am I? (and some Read-a-Thon fan girliness)

March 19, 2009

Read-a-ThonI just saw the announcement that Dewey’s Read-a-Thon is being kept up!!! It has its own site, and will take place on April 18th. I participated in the first two read-a-thons (I couldn’t do the last one because of school obligations, and I’m still incredibly depressed that I missed out on my last Dewey-run one, but we won’t think about that) and had the time of my life. Seriously-it’s the most fun you can have while not leaving your house! ;) You can read my wrap-ups of the first two here and here or, if you have a ton of spare time, follow along with my reader and cheerleading experiences via the hourly updates of the first and second read-a-thons to find out more, and if you need book suggestions, I compiled a huge list. I highly encourage you to sign up, even if you can’t stay up all twenty-four hours, it’s still a really fun bonding thing. And if you need more encouragement, the Sunday of the second read-a-thon, I had about 900 hits, which is my blog’s record for daily visits. And 181 comments left!

Stacy had the most brilliant idea in honour of Women’s History Month: a trivia quiz about woman authors. She’s been kind enough to let me borrow the idea, with my own clues of course! I have no idea if these clues are too hard, too easy, or just right, so I’ll just have to wait and see. Leave your guesses in the comments, and I’ll fill in the right answers as y’all guess them. (Of course, no googling allowed!) Here’s a hint: I’ve read at least one book by all of these authors since I’ve been blogging. So if you want to check out my ‘books read’ pages, that’s not cheating.

Here we go:

  • The love of my life was an elephant hunter. Isak Dinesen/Karen Blixen (Jenny first, also also Bybee, Susan, DS)
  • I endowed a major Australian literary award. Miles Franklin (CoversGirl first, also Bybee, DS)
  • Although my book’s now considered a classic, when it was first published, it was widely denounced for being written in dialect. Zora Neale Hurston (Susan first, also DS, Lily)
  • I became the center of controversy when I referred to the Harry Potter series as “written for people whose imaginative lives are confined to TV cartoons, and the exaggerated (more exciting, not threatening) mirror-worlds of soaps, reality TV and celebrity gossip.” A.S. Byatt (Nymeth)
  • When I was a child, I pretened to be a boy, even cutting my hair short and going by a boy’s name. Daphne du Maurier -Eva
  • I grew up in Chinua Achebe’s former house. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Lily)
  • I’m considered the first English woman professional author, since my writings were my livelihood. Aphra Behn (CoversGirl first, also Bybee, DS)
  • One of my past-times was raising peacocks. Flannery O’Connor (Lily first, also Bybee, DS, Lisa)
  • I’m a Pulitzer-Prize-winning journalist who is now best known for referring to Hilary Clinton as a monster during the 2008 U.S. Presidential Democratic Primaries. Although I resigned at the time, I’m now on President Obama’s National Security Council. Samantha Power (Debi first)
  • I emigrated from England to Tennessee as a child, and when I was orphaned at eighteen I began writing to support my younger siblings. Francis Hodgeson Burnett (Lily)
  • I published 83 books during my lifetime. Agatha Christie (Softdrink)
  • I was born in Georgia, and my parents named me Lula. Carson McCullers (Lily first, also Bybee, DS)

Also, Susan is sponsoring a giveaway on her blog that has overpowered my resolution not to acquire new books this year! Hehe Her friend Zetta Elliot has a book out called A Wish After Midnight, and by linking to this post, you’re entered in a drawing to win one of three signed copies. It’s a YA book! About time travel! And it has an awesome YouTube Video (don’t you love Elliot’s hair?):

So, go spread the word about the book. But, um, if you don’t mind, don’t enter the contest. I want a copy all for myself. ;)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:22 am

    Well, don’t I feel uneducated here…the only one I know for sure is Samantha Power. I could guess at a couple more, but I’ll just leave them for people who know what they’re talking about.

  2. March 19, 2009 6:27 am

    And I feel only slightly less uneducated than Debi does – the only ones I know are Miles Franklin and Aphra Behn.

  3. March 19, 2009 6:38 am

    Although my book’s now considered a classic, when it was first published, it was widely denounced for being written in dialect.

    Their Eyes Were Watching God By Zora Neale Hurston

  4. March 19, 2009 6:39 am

    And why can’t we google? Isn’t the point to learn? lol

    “I’m a Pulitzer-Prize-winning journalist who is now best known for referring to Hilary Clinton as a monster during the 2008 U.S. Presidential Democratic Primaries. Although I resigned at the time, I’m now on President Obama’s National Security Council.”

    Susan Rice?

  5. March 19, 2009 6:44 am

    Although my book’s now considered a classic, when it was first published, it was widely denounced for being written in dialect. Zora Neale Hurston?

    I grew up in Chinua Achebe’s former house. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie?

    One of my past-times was raising peacocks. Flannery O’Connor?

    I emigrated from England to Tennessee as a child, and when I was orphaned at eighteen I began writing to support my younger siblings. Francis Hodgeson Burnett?

    I was born in Georgia, and my parents named me Lula. Carson McCullers?

    If I got any of that right, I credit my eleven years on middle school / high school / college quiz bowl teams.

  6. March 19, 2009 6:48 am

    “I’m considered the first English woman professional author, since my writings were my livelihood.”

    Jane Austen?

  7. March 19, 2009 6:51 am

    While it is YA, readers this is no light read. Critical social commentary here. If you’re familiar with Octavia’s Butler’s, Kindred, change the starting decade and imagine taking this journey when you’re only 15.

    Zetta is a college professor, playwright and poet and she’s published papers in her field. This is a searing, captivating novel. I hope you’ll come by for the interview and the contest. If you don’t win, do buy a copy. If you don’t think the read is worthwhile, I’ll buy the book from you. I think that much of it.

  8. March 19, 2009 7:27 am

    It’s a wild guess, but 83 books=Agatha Christie? The only one I knew for sure was Zora Neale Hurston, but that’s already been answered.

  9. March 19, 2009 7:36 am

    softdrink – Agatha Christie totally sounds correct! Now I vaguely remember this fact from the dust jacket for The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.

  10. March 19, 2009 8:01 am

    Y’all are doing great so far! I’m going to wait until the end of the day to add all of the answers, but you’ve got nine down. :)

  11. March 19, 2009 11:26 am

    #4 Oh A.S. Byatt….I love you, but I’m still not quite over the fact that you said that :(

  12. March 19, 2009 1:04 pm

    Wow, I feel like an idiot! The only one I knew for sure without really thinking about it was Flannery O’Connor. This was fun, though. I haven’t been able to participate in the Read-a-thons in the past, but I’m considering it. I just don’t think I can stay up for very long. I’m pretty sad — I’m exhausted by 10:00 PM!! Even if I don’t sign up, I may try to read as much as possible that day and check in with some of you guys to see how you’re doing.

  13. March 19, 2009 1:17 pm

    oh! Hahaha now that I am reading the comments I see that each hint is for a separate author! Oh man. I kept thinking to myself that I must have been daft to not know who this was- but now I figured it out! Phew.

    I think I will sign up for the read-a-thon. THere is NO WAY i can stay up and read for 24 hours, but it will be a great motivator to get a lot of school reading done!

  14. March 19, 2009 3:01 pm

    I would be all over Google in order to answer these – I never remember what author goes with what book or anything about them.

    Thanks for mentioning the read-a-thon though! I spent a good portion of my day looking into whether or not I’d be able to do it (and can!)

  15. Jenny permalink
    March 19, 2009 3:24 pm

    #1 – Isak Dinesen?

  16. March 19, 2009 3:59 pm

    This is a great idea (although without the help of Wikipedia and Google, I’m hopeless). Mind if I adapt it, though, for my own blog? (Mine will be a slight variation.)

  17. March 19, 2009 7:57 pm

    Ooh, trivia! Fun! Let’s see..
    1. Isak Dinesen
    2.Miles Franklin
    3.Zora Neale Hurston
    4. no clue–will probably shoot self upon learning answer
    5. Katharine Hepburn (?)
    6. no clue
    7. Aphra Behn
    8. Flannery O’Connor :)
    9.journalist on NSC? a guess, but unlikely, so no clue
    10.England to Tennessee? no clue
    11.83 books? Joyce Carol Oates? (but she’s not finished yet); Elizabeth Gaskell ?(she is)
    12. Georgia/Lula Carson McCullers??? (probably wrong)

    Now to continue beating head against wall. Thanks for the fun!

  18. March 19, 2009 8:13 pm

    I missed Dewey’s last read-a-thon too and was bummed out…but pregancy and staying up 24 hours does not agree with each other! I hope to make this one…but we will see how agreeable the 1 month old is…if nothing else I will follow and cheer people on. Thanks for noting it I haven’t see the new site!

  19. March 19, 2009 8:20 pm

    Thanks for posting about the read-a-thon!!! I didn’t realize it had its own site (been so out of the loop lately). I can’t wait to participate again!

  20. March 19, 2009 8:32 pm

    lovely post, can’t think of any authors other than Isak dineson, already listed (unless it’s Karen Blixen) for #1…….I know some of these authors too, so i’ll be checking back for the answers, Eva!! lol

  21. March 19, 2009 10:26 pm

    I got Isak Dinesen, Miles Franklin, Flannery O’Connor and Carson McCullers oh, and the first professional woman writer, Aphra Behn.

  22. March 20, 2009 2:25 am

    Oh dear…I had no clue…I’m just not good with quizzes although looking through the comments I know a lot of the names listed very well!! Readathon sounds fun…may have to look into that!

  23. stacybuckeye permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:44 am

    Very nice! I had a few guesses, but none of them were correct :)

  24. March 20, 2009 8:27 am

    That was so fun, Eva!

  25. March 20, 2009 10:18 am

    OK, I totally should have known the Aphra Behn one! (Oh and a few others as well…) Great quiz!

  26. March 20, 2009 1:50 pm

    Hi Eva,
    Interview is up. Where are you? lol

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

