Skip to content

Support Your Library Challenge Wrap Up

March 14, 2009

library_challenge-2The Support Your Library Challenge wasn’t really a *challenge* for me, but I’m a big library supporter (gee, did Library Loot clue you in? lol), so I decided to sign up anyway. I went with the highest level-50 books-and I’ve surpassed that now (this explains why my TBR case is pretty much as full as ever).

It doesn’t make sense for me to use my usual wrap-up questions, since the challenge didn’t have me selecting specific books. However, I would like to make a little challenge to myself to join one of my library’s book clubs. I’ll have to start next month (since I’ll be in San Antonio soon), but I have quite a few options. Right now I’m debating between a ‘World Travelers’ group, a ‘Classics Cafe’ group, an ‘Intergenerational’ group, or a more general one. This will push me out of my comfort zone, since the idea of randomly visiting an already-established group makes me more than a little nervous, but it’s good to push the boundaries!

And now, here are the library books I’ve read, linked to reviews where they exist (you’ll see exactly how far behind I am on reviews thanks to this list):

  1. Fables: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham and Lan Medina
  2. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  3. Zenzele by J. Nozipo Maraire
  4. Loot by Sharon Waxman
  5. The Stones of Green Knowe by L.M. Boston
  6. An Enemy at Green Knowe by L.M. Boston
  7. A Stranger at Green Knowe by L.M. Boston
  8. I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron
  9. The Magic Half by Annie Barrows
  10. The Diamond in the Window by Jane Langton
  11. Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin
  12. The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan
  13. The Seance by John Harwood
  14. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  15. Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder
  16. A Lesson Before Dying by Earnest Gaines
  17. Bad Samaritans: the Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang
  18. No Name by Wilkie Collins
  19. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel
  20. The Yacoubian Building by Alaa Al Aswany
  21. The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama
  22. Trap for Cinderella by Sebastian Japrisot
  23. Blonde Roots by Bernadine Evaristo
  24. Shop Your Closet by Melanie Charlton Fascitelli
  25. Belfast Diary: War as a Way of Life by John Conroy
  26. China: Fragile Superpower by Susan Shirk
  27. “Feathers” by Jacqueline Woodson
  28. The Saturdays by Elizabeth Enright
  29. The Consolations of Philosophy by Alain de Botton
  30. Bloomability by Sharon Creech
  31. Nation by Terry Pratchett
  32. Commodore Hornblower by C.S. Forester
  33. The Oxford Project by Stephen Bloom
  34. Proust Was a Neuroscientist by Jonah Lehrer
  35. The Discovery of Poetry by Francis Mayes
  36. Snow Country by Yaunari Kawabata
  37. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  38. My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead, ed. Jeffrey Eugenides
  39. From a Whisper to a Scream by Charles de Lint
  40. The Innkeeper’s Song by Peter Beagle
  41. Blonde Like Me by Natalia Ilyin
  42. The Library at Night by Alberto Manguel
  43. City of Oranges by Adam LeBor
  44. Gilgamesh, trans. by Stephen Mitchell
  45. “Silk” by Alessandro Baricco
  46. Castle Waiting by Linda Medley
  47. Napoleon’s Buttons by Penny Le Couteur and Jay Burreson
  48. Cereus Blooms At Night by Shani Mootoo
  49. Rereadings, ed. Anne Fadiman
  50. My Life with the Saints by James Martin
  51. The Man in the Picture by Susan Hill
  52. The Story of Art by E.H. Gombrich
  53. Tales of Moonlight and Rain by Akinari Ueda
  54. Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto
20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 5:42 am

    Congratulations on finishing the challenge!!

  2. March 14, 2009 5:49 am

    I think my jaw dropped open when I saw the list of what you’ve READ from the library this year already. I thought I was doing well with 25 books out from the library, but I’ve only read one so far…..thou art the Queen of Libraries, Eva!! Wow. And I really want to read Bottom’s How Proust Can Change Your Life. I can’t wait for your review.

  3. March 14, 2009 6:17 am

    Wow – I am really impressed by the amount you have read and it is only March. I better get reading to catch up.

  4. March 14, 2009 7:43 am

    Mind-boggling! Way to go, Eva! What an awesome, incredibly varied pile of books there.

    Did you enjoy ZenZele? I bought that book in the used section of B&N last year, but haven’t read it yet. It sounds really good.

  5. March 14, 2009 11:49 am

    Wow-congrats! I’m impressed. I think I’ve only made it through 2 library books this year so far and to top it off my tbr shelf isn’t looking any better either. Yikes. lol.

  6. March 14, 2009 11:52 am

    Impressive amount of books read as always, Eva! That is a lot, for this year. :D

  7. March 14, 2009 2:27 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed too! I chose the top level as well, and am nearly half way through!

  8. March 14, 2009 2:40 pm

    Add me to those who are impressed! And if there’s a list for the envious put my name on it. Our library hosts 1 small bookclub. Imagine being able to choose between four? I applaud your bravery to attend an already established group. I know it’s a bit uncomfortable, but I bet the group welcomes you with open arms.

  9. March 14, 2009 4:26 pm

    Nice job finishing the challenge already. I’m way behind in reviews as well but I will catch up eventually. I am even behind in my library loot posts :)

  10. March 14, 2009 4:45 pm

    Wow – you go girl! :)

    And, yay for joining a library book group. I hope it’ll be great fun and you’ll enjoy it. No doubt they’ll love having you there!

  11. March 14, 2009 5:53 pm

    I am so jealous that your library system offers such choices for book groups. I can’t find a decent reading group around in my area, and believe it or not, I’m the only reader in my close circle of friends.

  12. March 15, 2009 10:26 am

    The variety in your list proves once again how valuable the library really is – where else could you find so many books in so many genres, all there for the asking!

    Of course, I’m a big library lover/supporter from way, way back :)

  13. March 15, 2009 11:24 am

    Where would we be without our public libraries? That is SOME list! Congratulations on completing so many books; isn’t it fun when something you weren’t quite expecting ‘falls’ off the shelf & into your bookbag. Now I have to go and pay my fines…

  14. March 15, 2009 1:56 pm

    Congrats on completing this!
    I’m on 39 library books os far ;0)
    http://lyndasbookblog.blogspot.com/

  15. March 15, 2009 2:50 pm

    P.S. There’s a little surprise for you over on my blog…

  16. March 15, 2009 3:05 pm

    WAY TO GO! This is amazing. If only I could read so quickly, I’d be one happy chicky.

  17. March 15, 2009 5:42 pm

    Wow…you are a reading machine. I can’t stay away from the library either :)

  18. March 16, 2009 4:12 am

    Bermuda Onion, thanks!

    Susan, lol-remember that I have almost no responsibilities and I’m homebound a lot! I haven’t read How Proust Can Change Your Life-I read The Consolations of Philosophy. But I’ll definitely be reading more Botton in the future. :D

    Vivienne, see what I wrote to Susan. ;)

    Debi, I just reviewed Zenzele! I definitely think it was worth reading, but the author’s strength is not in fiction writing. :)

    Darlene, I’m sure you have lots of other important stuff to do!

    Claire, thanks. It is a lot, way more than I’d read if I was feeling healthy!

    Marg, I’m impressed you’re nearly halfway through!

    Booklogged, while I don’t live in a big city (our population is under 400,000), it has a great library system! I’m nervous, but I’ll be thinking about your words. :)

    Samantha, I don’t know if I’ll catch up on my reviews, but I hope so!

    Iliana, thanks! I hope they’re friendly. :)

    Christina, none of my close friends read the way I do (some of them read, others I don’t think ever do), so I completely understand!

    Becca, I completely agree, one hundred percent.

    DS, hehe-glad I’m not the only one with fines!

    J. Kaye, thanks. :D

    Diane, I think being addicted to libraries is one of the cheapest and healthiest addictions there is. :)

  19. March 16, 2009 7:59 am

    Wow, this is an impressive list of library books! I’m sure your library loves you. I really think you should join one of the library’s book clubs. I was hesitant about it at first, as well. But, I absolutely love my library book group. It is a very diverse group — men and women from 20s to 70s in age. We all like different genres, as well. But, I’ve found that it doesn’t really matter. The discussions are so lively, informative and fun. Even if I wasn’t crazy about the book, I always look forward to the discussion.

  20. May 22, 2009 4:19 pm

    Congratulations! That is an amazing list of books!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

