Skip to content

Themed Reading Challenge

January 24, 2009

2009themedreading-278x300Who, me? Join another challenge? Well, the Japanese Lit Challenge ends this month, so it’s ok for me to add another one. ;) Hosted by the every-energetic Wendy, the Themed Reading Challenge runs from February 1st to July 31st and is designed to help get through the TBR stacks.

My theme is the Middle Ages (one of my favourite historical periods), so I’ll read at least four of the following (all from my TBR case):
Queen of Scots: The True Life of Mary Stuart by John Guy: I’m about a quarter of the way through this wonderful biography.
Joan of Arc by Régine Pernoud and Marie-Véronique Clin, trans. by Jeremy duQuesnay Adams: a biography of the famous 15th century French peasant girl.
The Middle Ages by Morris Bishop: a relatively short (350 pg) history of the entire Middle Ages.
Confessions of a Pagan Nun by Kate Horsley: a short novel set in Ireland just as the Middle Ages began (500 CE)
Crossed by Nicole Galland: a novel about the Fourth Crusade, which took places in the 1200s.
The Conqueror by Georgette Heyer: a novel about William the Conqueror.
A Well-Timed Enchantment by Vivian Vande Velde: first of all, isn’t that just the best name ever?! lol Anyway, this is a short YA book about a teenage girl who accidently time travels back into Medieval France.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2009 10:35 am

    This is also one of my favorite time periods. You’ve got some nice selections waiting.

  2. January 24, 2009 11:04 am

    Eva, these all sound really good. I’ll be looking forward to your reviews :) What a great theme!

  3. January 24, 2009 4:01 pm

    Now you’re adding to my wishlist just by making lists Eva…seriously, stop! lol

  4. January 24, 2009 4:07 pm

    Welcome to the challenge :) Your theme sounds like fun!

  5. January 24, 2009 4:15 pm

    So how many challenges have you joined now? :)

    I just finished the Japanese one and feel like I should go sign up for something else to fill it’s spot! haha…

    Have fun with your challenge!

  6. January 24, 2009 7:04 pm

    Sounds like yet another great challenge but I’m going to just read about you completing it…I never would :)

  7. January 24, 2009 8:27 pm

    I love Vivian Vande Velde! That book looks amazing. *adds to list of library loan books*
    If you like it and you haven’t read her book “Dragon Bait” it’s a book set in a Middle Ages setting about a girl who is left as a virgin sacrifice to a dragon and she convinces the dragon to hep her get revenge on the towns people. Really good.

  8. January 25, 2009 6:38 am

    Lisa, I’m excited!

    Samantha, thanks! :)

    Chris, hehe-such is the life of a book blogger. ;)

    Wendy, thanks for hosting!

    Iliana, I think I’m somewhere around 20, lol.

    Staci, I have too much time on my hands! ;)

    Breezey, I haven’t read her before, so I’m glad that you love her. :D Dragon Bait sounds awesome!

  9. January 25, 2009 12:39 pm

    What a great theme! I am participating in this one too. I can’t wait to get started on it!

  10. January 27, 2009 10:59 pm

    Literary Feline, I’m excited too!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

