Skip to content

Library Loot: January 14-20, 2009

January 14, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

ETA: Mr. Linky is being really weird, so just leave your links in a comment on the post and I’ll list them myself. I went through everyone who commented and added everyone’s Library Loot post that I could find, but if you just used Mr. Linky, your link’s lost. Sorry about the inconvenience!

Here’s what I got from the library this week:
rowone1
rowtwo1
rowthree1
Always going from left to right, top row: The Library At Night by Alberto Manguel (nominally for the Dewey Decimal challenge, but mainly because I love Manguel), Castle Waiting by Linda Medley (for the Graphic Novel challenge), Silk by Alessandro Baricco (for the 1% Well-Read Challenge)
middle row: To the Lighthouse by Virginian Woolf (for the Martel-Harper challenge), China: Fragile Superpower by Susan Shirk (for the World Citizen Challenge), The Consolations of Philosophy by Alain de Botton (for the Dewey Decimal challenge)
bottom row: Stich ‘n Bitch: the Knitter’s Handbook by Debbie Stoller (for the Dewey Knit-a-Long…I’m not terribly impressed by this one, fyi), My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead ed. by Jeffrey Eugenides (for the 100 Shots of Short challenge), Classic Knits by Erika Knight (for the Dewey Knit-a-Long-I love this one to piece)

There you have it! Wanna play along? Just leave me a comment!


Claire (Kiss a Cloud)
Sarah (Behold, the thing that reads a lot)
Sandra (Fresh Ink Books)
Debi (Nothing of Importance)
Melissa (Book Nut)
Sam (Sam’s Book Blog)
Marg (ReadingAdventures)
FleurFisher (Fleur Fisher Reads)
Naida (the bookworm)
Jeska (The Curious Reader)
Iliana (bookgirl’s nightstand)
Softdrink (Fizzy Beverage)
Katrina (Katrina’s Reads)
Vasilly(1330V)
SmallWorld (SmallWorld Reads)
Marbel (Two Kid Schoolhouse)
Sandy (Falling Like Rain)
Somer (Some Reads)

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 8:52 am

    Wow I’m first! Silk is nice.. it’s the only one I’ve read from your loot. Still coveting to read the Alberto Manguel but.. restraining myself until I’m done with all the challenges aarrgh :D

    Happy reading!!

  2. January 14, 2009 9:13 am

    Oh my gosh! That’s a lot of reading to do in 2 weeks!

  3. January 14, 2009 9:55 am

    wow…you got tond of books last week and you got more! i only have 3 things that i got this week! in addition to the things i still have from last week!

  4. January 14, 2009 10:17 am

    I really want to read the Manguel and I think I have a copy of To the Lighthouse rattling around my shelves, shame on me.
    Eugenides’ novels are very good so I’m sure his story stories must be something. You’ve got a nice variety there Eva, happy reading.

  5. January 14, 2009 10:23 am

    I learned to knit from Stitch n Bitch, but I agree with the whole not all that impressed thing- it’s definently a “try and lure the vaguely interested to the dark side with easy, basic patterns and trendy styling” book, not a “try to be a really impressive knitting book” book. Besides, knittinghelp.com is so much better for the learning thing, and there’s so many awesome free ( http://whipup.net/2008/12/01/guide-to-free-online-knitting-resources/) and not-so-free patterns online that beginner books can feel rather unnecessary.

  6. January 14, 2009 10:45 am

    Well, I played along, but I couldn’t get Mr. Linky to come up. Suspect it may be a problem on my end though…I don’t seem to be able to get to a lot of places the last few days. Anyway, I can’t wait to see what you think of China: Fragile Superpower. Sounds really good.

  7. January 14, 2009 11:43 am

    I just checked out that classic knits book earlier this month :) it has some good stuff, but all more involved than I wanted to go.

    happy knitting, and reading!!

  8. January 14, 2009 11:54 am

    A lot of good books there. Mr. Linky’s down, so I’m posting my link here, in case I don’t get back to checking to see if it’s up again. (That was roundabout, wasn’t it?)

  9. January 14, 2009 12:30 pm

    Oooh, I read Silk for the last read-a-thon, very enjoyable it was too.

  10. January 14, 2009 12:39 pm

    These look great! I just got a book that I checked out for the World Citizen challenge too. I’m so excited to get started now :)

  11. January 14, 2009 12:54 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead ever since it was published. I can’t imagine his taste being anything but great, so I bet I’ll like the stories he picked. And plus the book itself is so beautiful.

    And yay, you got Caste Waiting!

  12. January 14, 2009 12:55 pm

    Mine’s more about the books that I am taking back as opposed to the one’s that I borrowed, but they are there!

  13. January 14, 2009 2:05 pm

    As the economy continues to go down the crapper I think we’re going to find a lot of new people browsing our libraries. Some things may be more difficult to get. This week I’ve got out “The Bean Trees” by Barbara Kingsolver, “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver and family, and finally Michael Pollens “In Defense of Food”. I’ve finished “Bean Trees” and just started “Animal”. It’s fascinating and impressive.

  14. fleurfisher permalink
    January 14, 2009 2:45 pm

    Ooh, I flicked through Erica Knight book in a bookshop and it looked lovely. Sadly my library only has her crochet book and, try as I might, I just can’t figure out crochet.

  15. lena permalink
    January 14, 2009 2:52 pm

    I absolutely loved “My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead.” There is a story in there called The Hitchhiking Game which is probably now one of my favorite stories ever. I thought Eugenidies wrote an incredibly beautiful introduction. I liked it almost as much as I liked the stories!

    I’m excited for your review!

  16. January 14, 2009 3:52 pm

    If I were you, I’d check out the second Stitch N’ Bitch book! The second volume provides more colorful patterns as well as profiles of knitting circles around the world! Good luck with what looks to be like quite a bit of library loot!

  17. January 14, 2009 5:16 pm

    great loot! I have the stitch n bitch book for crocheters, I love it.
    http://thebookworm07.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot.html

  18. January 14, 2009 6:31 pm

    i am always so impressed with how many books you can tackle in a week. I’m still wading through my library loot. :)

  19. January 14, 2009 6:54 pm

    Ach! I accidently hit enter, and Mr.Linky was auto-filled! So there is a random Mr Linky that shouldn’t be there. Sorry!! (It’s #12, if you’re able to delete it!)

  20. January 14, 2009 7:44 pm

    I soo want to read My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead! The cover gets my attention every time.

  21. January 14, 2009 11:21 pm

    I’m in love with your loot this week!! I have The Library at Night on my wishlist right now. It looks great, doesn’t it? And Castle Waiting has been on my list for awhile now. I finally saw it in the bookstore the other day and had no idea it was that thick! And the Eugenides book looks great. Especially the cover! I love it!

  22. January 15, 2009 3:27 am

    Claire, I still say you should just read it. ;) lol

    BermudaOnion, we have 3 week check outs here, and most of these are really short. (See the self-justification there?)

    Sarah, yep-but I’ll be slowing down in next week. I’m still on vacation, though, so I’m taking full advantage of it. :F

    Sandra, the story anthology is actually edited by Eugenides, so all he wrote was the introduction (it was very interesting).

    Corvus, I was looking at the pictures, and even though I know how to knit they had me confused! knittinghelp.com is definitely much better, and there are much prettier patterns online.

    Debi, I hope to get to China: Fragile Superpower soon.

    Bethany, yep-I don’t think I could make any of those projects right now. But they’re just so pretty!!

    Melissa, thanks for participating!

    Bart, I actually read Silk last night and absolutely loved it. :D

    Samantha, I’ll be looking forward to your review!

    Nymeth, I’ve been wanting to read My Mistress’s Sparrow ever since it was published too! So far, I really like maybe 85% of the stories. And I actually already read Castle Waiting and loved it to tiny little bits.

    Marg, thanks for participating!

    Jenifer, you’re definitely on a Kingsolver kick! I’ve only read The Poisonwood Bible and was less than impressed-I’ll have to go see what you thought of Bean Trees. :)

    FleurFisher, I didn’t know she had a crocheting book! I think crocheting’s much easier than knitting, but that’s probably because I learned it first. ;)

    Lena, I agree with you competely-“The Hitchhiking Game” was awesome and Eugenidies’ intro was very cool. I also love that all the proceeds are going to charity!

    Chelsea, I’ll check it out-thanks for the suggestion.

    Bookworm, thanks for participating! I’ll have to check out The Happy Hooker, lol.

    Chris, I’m not done with all my books from last week! I just shamelessly pile up the library books near my bed. ;)

    Jeska, it’s ok!

    Andi, I know-I really like the cover. But it was sitting on the end table the other day, and my mom thought it was gross, lol. The paperback has a very different, but also very cool, cover.

    Chris, Castle Waiting is definitely thick, but I raced through it in one sitting! I’m not allowing myself to pick up the Manguel until I finish The City of Oranges. ;)

  23. January 15, 2009 5:41 am

    I forgot to have my post up yesterday! Anyway, here’s mine:
    http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot-january.html

    I have To the Lighthouse on my reading list for the Martel-Harper challenge too!

  24. January 15, 2009 7:20 am

    http://samsbookblog.blogspot.com

    I used mr. linky but it got lost :)

  25. January 15, 2009 7:30 am

    Oops! You already had me listed (sorry for the bad grammar in the previous post). Just to give you a heads up..the links above and below mine take you back to my blog as well as my link :)

  26. January 15, 2009 11:33 am

    My list is here:
    http://katrinasreads.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot.html

    (I only went in to pick up The Graveyard Book!)

  27. January 16, 2009 7:35 pm

    I have My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead on my bookshelf. I bought it last year and still haven’t found the time to read all of it. I can’t wait to read your review. Here’s my Library Loot post for this week:

    http://1330v.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot-january-14-20.html

  28. January 17, 2009 6:41 am

    I love this new weekly! And I wish I could knit.

    I’m up here:
    http://smallworldreads.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot.html

    Thanks for hosting!

  29. January 17, 2009 3:01 pm

    This looks like fun (Sarah at SmallWorld Reads tipped me off). Here is mine:

    Library Loot

  30. January 17, 2009 6:34 pm

    My post is up at the link below. Fun meme!

    http://sandy-fallinglikerain.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot-edition-one.html

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. bookgirl’s nightstand | Blog Archive | Library Loot

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

