Skip to content

100 Shots of Short

December 26, 2008

shotsofshortGotta love a reading challenge with a shot glass on the button. ;) This challenge, hosted by Rob Around Books asks participants to just read 100 self-selected stories. As you can see by the rules, there isn’t a deadline or anything; it’s just for love of the short story!

I happened to have already made a list for a little A-Z short story reading I’m doing on my own: one for titles and one for authors whose letters I don’t have yet in my review directory. So, here are some stories I’m planning on reading for the titles:
C: “The Consul” by Richard Harding Davis or “The Child’s Story” by Charles Dickens
E: “Evolution of trickster stories among the dogs of North Park after the Change” by Kij Johnson
F: “Facts Concering the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family” by H.P. Lovecraft
G: “Good Man is Hard to Find, A” by Flannery O’Connor
I: “Ice Wagon Going Down the Street, The” by Mavis Gallant (The Collected Stories of Mavis Gallant)
J: “Jeeves and the Unbidden Guest” or “Jeeves and the Hardboiled Egg
K: “Kiss, The” by Guy de Maupassant
N: “No One’s a Mystery” by Elizabeth Tallent
Q: “Quail Seed” by Saki
R: “A Rose for Emily” by William Faulkner
T: “Testimony of Pilot” by Barry Hannah
U: “Unlawful Posession” by George A. Birmingham
V: “Voluntary Committal” by Joe Hill (20th Century Ghosts)
Z: “Z.Z.’s Sleep-Away Camp for Disordered Dreamers” by Karen Russell

And here are some authors I’m planning on reading, sometimes with the specific story I have in mind:
E: Endo, Shusaku
F: Fitzgerald, F. Scott (“Bernice Bobs Her Hair”)
H: Hempel, Amy (“The Harvest”)
I: Irving, Washington
J: Joyce, James (“The Dead”)
L: Lawrence, D.H. (“The Daughters of the Vicar”)
M: Mansfield, Katherine (“Prelude”)
N: Nabokov, Vladimir (The Stories of Vladimir Nabokov)
O: O’Connor, Flannery (“A Good Man is Hard to Find”)
P: Poe, Edgar Allen (“The Fall of the House of Usher”)
Q: Quiller-Couch, Arthur
T: Twain, Mark
U: Ueda (Tales of Moonlight and Rain)
V: Van Dyke, Henry
X: Xinran Xue (The Good Women of China)
Y: Yourcenar, Marguerite
Z: Zola, Emile

Additionally, I’ll be selecting stories from the following anthologies and collections, courtesy of my awesome library:
My Mistress’ Sparrow is Dead: Great Love Stories, from Chekhov to Munro, ed. Jeffrey Eugenides
You’ve Got to Read This: Contemporary American Writers Introduce Stories That Held Them in Awe, ed. Ron Hansen
Fifty Great Short Stories, ed. Milton Crane
The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories, ed. Tom Shippey
Children of the Night: The Best Short Stories by Black Writers, 1967-Present, ed. Gloria Naylor
Edmund Dulac’s Fairy-Book
The Collected Tales of Nikolai Gogol, trans. Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky
The Eternal Husband and Other Stories by Fyodor Dostoevsky, trans. Pevear & Volokhonsky

And I have the following collections and anthologies on my TBR case, so I’ll probably dip into them as well:
The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty
The Turn of the Screw, The Aspern Papers, and Two Stories by Henry James
Get Down by Asali Solomon
Pack of Cards by Penelope Lively
St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell
Collected Ghost Stories by M.R. James
Winter’s Tales by Isak Dinesen
Ship Fever by Andrew Barrett
Madam Crowl’s Ghost by Sheridan LeFanu
Bliss and Other Stories by Katherine Mansfield
Stained Glass Elegies by Shisako Endo
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2002
Crime Through Time

So there you go!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2008 5:07 pm

    If you have not read “How Much Does a Man Need” by Tolstoy, I highly suggest it for this challenge! It made me re-think my dislike for Russian literature ;)

  2. December 26, 2008 7:39 pm

    I’m doing this challenge, too, but I haven’t really thought about titles yet. Oops. :) If you ever listen to podcasts, your should check out The Classic Tales Podcast. I think I’ll be downloading quite a few of those stories…

  3. December 26, 2008 9:33 pm

    You’re a brave woman! 100 of anything makes me nervous!

  4. December 26, 2008 10:03 pm

    Sarah, you dislike Russian lit?!?! Obviously, we cannot be friends. :p j/k But I’m glad a short story made you change your mind-I’ll have to check it out. :)

    Jessi, honestly, I mainly copied and pasted from a list I made several months ago! I don’t lsiten to podcasts, but I want to start. What a cool link-thanks!

    Andi, lol…how about 100 days of vacation? Or 100 chocolates? ;p

  5. December 26, 2008 10:38 pm

    “A Rose For Emily” is fabulous! It started my Faulkner kick.

    Lezlie

  6. December 27, 2008 7:56 am

    That is a fantastic challenge button! And of course I love short stories so this is a great idea.

  7. December 27, 2008 8:23 am

    Lezlie, awesome!

    Carl, I completely agree. :)

Trackbacks

  1. “Bernice Bobs Her Hair” by F. Scott Fitzgerald (thoughts) « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

