Skip to content

What’s in a Name? 2

December 21, 2008

whatsinanameOf course I had to sign up for the second round of Annie’s What’s in a Name? challenge. It has all-new categories, and I decided to go one step further and use only African literature for my choices (guess what one of my new year’s reading resolutions is going to be?). It took some doing, and I ended up including the Maghreb instead of just focusing on Sub-Saharan Africa, but I managed it. Of course, my library only has half of the titles, but they’re all available in paperback, and it just so happens that the ones I need to buy have awesome covers, so I’m fine with it. Here’s the list:

  • The Concubine by Elechi Amadi: a Nigerian author provides me with my profession selection (hey! isn’t it the oldest profession in the world?). It’s a novel focused on Igbo tradition; we’ll see if Mr. Amadi can live up to the standard set by his fellow Nigerian Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.
  • Another Day of Life by Ryszard Kapuscinski : this is a journalistic account of the civil war in Angola. I’ve heard lots of good things about Kapuscinski, so I’m glad that this one can count as my ‘time of day’ selection.
  • Zenzele: A Letter for My Daughter by J. Nozipo Maraire : staying in southern Africa, this the first novel of a Zimbabwean author. It’s written as a letter from a Zimbabwean mother whose daughter is beginning Harvard, and counts as my relative selection.
  • Country of My Skull by Antjie Krog : moving a little further south, this book is by a South African journalist who reported extensively on the country’s Truth and Reconciliation Committee. This is an analysis of the trials, which went on for two years, and satisfies the ‘body part’ category.
  • The Yacoubian Building by Alaa Al Aswany: I’ve been wanting to read this Egyptian novel for awhile, so it seemed like the perfect choice for the ‘building’ category!
  • Your Madness Not Mine by Makuchi: it took me forever to find an African book with a medical condition in the title!!! Well, except for the books about HIV/AIDS, which I’m just not prepared for. So I was so happy to finally discover this Cameroonian author’s short story collection. I have a soft spot for Cameroon: it’s where I was hoping to be sent when I was nominated for the Peace Corps in francophone Africa, and I still really want to visit it some day. Hopefully, this book will give me a little taste of what life is like there!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2008 7:48 am

    I hope you get to visit Cameroon. I really loved my short time there!

  2. December 21, 2008 1:43 pm

    Wordlily, now I’m jealous!!! I shall MAKE the time one of these years.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

