Skip to content

Lisa See (Q&A for Peony in Love and Flower Net)

August 24, 2008

Tara says: But feel free to talk about Peony in Love soon. I’m curious about it.
I loved it! Way more than Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: it definitely felt like See let herself take more chances, and it paid off.

Katrina asks: And, in Peony in Love, was you able to believe that their love could survive her death?
Well, I certainly think Peony’s love could survive her death. After all, when someone starves themself for love, that’s pretty intense! And I think Peony had a lot of growing up to do, so I loved watching her ghost transform. Not to mention learning more about Chinese afterlife blieves-so interesting!

Somer says: I’m curious why you gave one Lisa See book 2 stars [Flower Net -Eva] and one 4 stars [Peony in Love -Eva]. Also, have you read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, and how did it compare?
I have read all three: I think Peony in Love was much better than Snow Flower-less formulaic, with more loveable and interesting characters and a way cooler setting (the afterlife! when I read this, I had no idea most of the book took place after Peony’s death, so I was pleasantly surprised). Flower Net is the first in See’s modern-day thriller series: a Chinese detective and American (L.A.) U.S. attorney combine forces to solve the murder of the American ambassador’s son in Beijing. The first part of the book I really liked, but the second felt waaaaaaaay too drawn out and boring. Thrillers shouldn’t be boring, which is why I gave it two stars.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2008 10:12 am

    I read Snow Flower and the Secret fan and, while I enjoyed it, I wasn’t blown away by any means. However, maybe I’ll give Peony in Love a try and see if I like that one better.

  2. August 24, 2008 1:21 pm

    I would definitely agree that The Flower Net is a disappointment after reading Snow Flower and Peony. She definitely found her niche by changing to HF!

  3. August 24, 2008 2:11 pm

    Oh yay! I loved, loved, loved Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and picked up Peony in Love not too long ago. Now I can’t wait till it finds its way to the top of my pile!

  4. August 24, 2008 5:54 pm

    Interesting! In most cases, I’ve noticed that reviewed have enjoyed Snow Flower more, so I’m happy to see your review and it makes me look forward to Peony more. Hope you are doing well!

  5. J.S. Peyton permalink
    August 25, 2008 7:59 am

    I just bought Snow Flower at my local bookstore. I haven’t started it yet, but from what I’ve heard here, once I do I’m also going to have to read Peony just to see how they compare!

  6. August 25, 2008 7:26 pm

    I enjoyed Peony in Love–the afterlife, the ghost marriage–which reminds me of the timeless classics in Chinese literature, Tales of Fairy and Ghost available from Penguins. But I’m not sure about Flower Net. The premise is just not engaging.

Trackbacks

  1. » Lisa See (Q&A for Peony in Love and Flower Net)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

