Skip to content

Book Lust (thoughts)

June 27, 2008

Ready for the read-a-thon tomorrow? Dewey did a great, informative post today to help everyone out. :) I’ll be blogging every hour as a reader, so be prepared for lots of posts if you subscribe to my feed! And I’m a cheerleader too, so I’ll be leaving comments on all of you readers’ blogs. They’re short ones though, which is probably a nice change from my usual reviews, lol. I’m going to sneak in this post on Book Lust now, since I was generally unimpressed, and I’m hoping on a Friday night less people will notice. hehe

I’ve heard so much about Nancy Pearl, but I’d never come across a physical copy of her books in any bookstores. So finally I decided to just check out Book Lust from the library and see what all the fuss was about! (Remember how I love reading books about books?)

After reading it, though, I found myself underwhelmed. I mean, there is a great variety of choices on there, but I just don’t think that Pearl and I have similar reading tastes. Almost all of the books she recommends that I’ve read I had a three-star reaction to: not bad, but not great. And of my four very favourite authors, Byatt and Gaiman don’t appear at all, only Austen’s Pride and Prejudice is listed, and only on ‘chick lit’ and romance lists without even a blurb. And let’s not even talk about my other favourite authors, most of whom never appear! Granted, Rushdie gets a fair amount of attention, but that together with a lack of the classics implies that while Pearl and I agree on our love of books, which particular books we choose are drastically different. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, it just made the book less relevent for me. And I didn’t like how half the lists were unannotated: the best part of the book were the little paragraphs! I understand if it was a space thing, though.

I can see how readers who haven’t discovered book blogs, and are looking for more book recommendations, might think this was heaven. But after being in the book blog community for a year and a half, I didn’t get much out of this one. Plus, even the books that sound interesting I’m hesitant about, because many of the books Pearl loved I didn’t enjoy too much. I did really enjoy the introduction, when she talks about how she started reading and why she became a librarian; I also liked the paragraphs introducing each list.

Have you read any of the Pearl books? What do you think?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2008 7:58 pm

    I’ve flipped through Book Lust before, and I was pretty underwhelmed by the looks of it. I listen to her book reviews via podcast, and while she’s a nice reviewer, most of the books she reviews hold absolutely no interest for me. Oh well! Can’t win ’em all.

  2. June 28, 2008 5:32 am

    Only because I have a problem turning away from any book about books, I will probably consider this one, but hopefully your review will help me save my time.

    Great reading to you today!!!! I’ll stop in often.

  3. June 28, 2008 5:51 am

    I agree with you about how reading book blogs makes this kind of book less necessary — I have a copy of Book Lust and have glanced through it, and it’s fun and all, but really — I’d rather get recommendations from blogs written by people I know and trust.

  4. June 28, 2008 8:39 am

    Interesting. I’ve always wanted to pick up one of her books, because I love her on NPR. Maybe not worth the effort…like you said, I get all the recommendations I could possibly need from all these wonderful book bloggers anyway. Heck, I could probably read for life just on your recommendations alone! :-)

  5. June 28, 2008 9:44 am

    I used to go ape over these types of books before I found the book blog community (I was a little late to the party–I started my blog last October and I didn’t find Google Reader until this year ;>)). But now that I regularly read book blogs, I like the blogs much better than the books. Like Dorothy said, you get to know a blogger’s reading taste and how well it matches with yours and the blogs are much more up-to-date. I just think my desire to get my book fix has moved more digital…it’s still there, though…

  6. Wendy permalink
    June 28, 2008 11:59 am

    I have both of Nancy’s books (Book Lust and More Book Lust). As others have said they are fun to flip through I find that for all the reading I do not many of the books I’ve read are on her lists. I don’t see many of the ones that you wonderful bloggers recommend either. YOU are my best source for reading. I thank you.

  7. Wendy permalink
    June 28, 2008 12:01 pm

    Proof-read! I meant to say that not many are in her books. I feel better now.

  8. June 30, 2008 8:35 am

    Andi, glad I’m not the only one!

    Andi, lol: I probably would have gotten it even if I’d read a review like this too. ;)

    Dorothy, I feel the same way. :)

    Debi, I love her on NPR too!

    Kristi, I only started using a reader a few months ago too! And my blog’s only about ten months older than yours. ;)

    Wendy, that’s so sweet!! I did like reading the introductions to the list, if not the books themselves. ;)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

