Skip to content

Randomness and Odd Thomas (thoughts)

June 22, 2008

I’m sorry about the lack of presence this weekend! Saturday, my mom, her friend (and my good friend’s mom, so the four of us are pretty tight, lol…multigeneration margaritas are a pretty common occurence), and I went garage/estate sale-ing. Usually, I find the whole garage sale atmosphere rather sordid and distasteful, but I did some research and created an itinerary with eight stops at pretty big sales (why yes, I do love lists. I also determined exactly which route to go on to use the least amount of gas). I was mainly on the hunt for sewing stuff, but I ended up getting some other stuff too. It’s all awesome though, and I will definitely put arrange it all artfully and photograph it sometime soon. Since I insisted we start the day early (and I scored a ton of great lace by getting to the first sale before 8!), and then we had to go to JoAnn fabrics and eat lunch, by the time my mom and I got home, all we could handle was watching a couple Law and Orders and a movie, and then going to bed. Then this morning I woke up exhausted (our evil neighbour’s huge dogs have started barking at night again), and when I’m super-tired I just can’t face the computer. So, I have to catch up on all y’alls wonderful posts, reply to a few e-mails, and of course answer comments. With any luck, I’ll wake up tomorrow refreshed and relaxed! Until then, here are my thoughts on Odd Thomas. :)

I listened to Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas as an audio download on my laptop. He kept me company while I was sick, and while I was doing things like cooking for cleaning my room. And of course, I fell asleep to his story every night.

The entire time I was listening, I kept thinking “I don’t know. This could go either way.” Sometimes Odd’s narrative voice was endearing, other times it was just silly and annoying. The idea was interesting: Odd can see into the spirit realm, including dead people and evil spirits. But the plot suffered a bit; almost the entire book took place over a couple of days, and it seemed like Oontz just kept adding random sidetrips to draw it out. I think I would have enjoyed reading about several small adventures of Odd’s instead of the one big one.

I won’t give away any spoilers about the ending, but I will say that while I was expecting it, it wasn’t the ending I wanted. While I’m glad I stuck with it and listened to the whole book, I doubt I’ll be seeking out the others in the series. There are too many other series whose characters I care more about and love to read. Life’s too short for three-star books! :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 3:46 am

    Dean Koontz, eh? Never read the guy, but he’s filed away in my head under: WASTE OF TIME. I don’t know why, but I trust my mental filing system, and you’ve just reinforced his position in it.

    Anyone read one of his books and found it really good?

  2. June 23, 2008 5:44 am

    Sounds like quite the fun Saturday to me!!! I’ve never read any of Koontz’s stuff. I have a couple in my nightstand that a friend lent me, but I just haven’t had the urge to pick one up yet.

  3. June 23, 2008 1:52 pm

    Hmmm…I bought this one a while ago but still haven’t read it for some reason, maybe because I intuited what you’ve written here? Still, I’m curious, so will probably get to it at some point.

  4. June 24, 2008 11:25 am

    Mustie, that’s where he was filed for me too, which is why I decided to take a chance on him.

    Debi, can’t wait to see what you think!

    Emily, I think it might work a little better in print: I read much faster than listening to an audiobook, so it might not have felt so drawn out.

  5. J.S. Peyton permalink
    June 24, 2008 12:03 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry you didn’t like Odd Thomas! I liked it a lot. In fact, I’m in the middle of reading the next one in the series. I wonder how much the audio book affected your impression of the book, because I didn’t find Odd annoying at all and I was genuinely sad for him at the end. Ah, well. Different strokes, eh?

  6. June 27, 2008 7:05 pm

    J.S., I did feel bad for him at the end.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

