Skip to content

Memes Galore!

February 7, 2008

See how good I am at avoiding doing book reviews?  I think I have it down to an art!  While today was better than yesterday, I only have really good books to talk about right now, and I don’t have quite enough energy to do them justice.  So, in the meantime…
Meme Number One: Booking Through Thursday
I’ve never done one of these before, but I really like this question: What else do you do to pass the leisure time?
Oh-a life outside of books! Well, I read The Economist, I study Russian (but I’m not sure how ‘leisurely’ that is), I do yoga (though I’m still working up to a daily practice), I watch some TV shows (the two shows I *love*-i.e., have on DVD-are Bones and The Office, I usually watch the L&O series, and my guilty pleasures are Project Runway and that new BRAVO show Make Me A Supermodel), I watch movies (since we’ve cancelled our Blockbuster mailing thing-they raised the prices-I just record movies off TCM, so I’ve become a classic movie fiend!), I think up new ways to make my crazy niece giggle, I cook (since it’s cold here, I really love making soup right now), I take naps, I hang out with friends, and oh yeah! There’s this thing called the internet…I don’t know if you’ve heard of it, but it’s a big time-suck. ;)

Meme Number Two-the 123 Meme (tagged by Annie)
Here’re the rules:
1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.
I have two books sitting right next to me, so I’ll do them both.  Ken Follett’s The Pillars of the Earth (a monk and aprior are discussing a toll bridge in the twelfth century): 

“…So it’s just a traveling knight or a tinker who comes every day or two.  Then on holy days, when people come from all over the country to hear the services in the cathedral, we gather farthings galore.”
“It seems to me we might man the bridge on holy days only, and give you a fire out of the proceeds,” said Philip.

And then we have Dressing Up for the Carnival by Carol Shields (from the story “Edith-Ester,” which I haven’t read yet:

“I’ll have to phone you back, I can’t seem to-”
“-that she will choose celibacy, that her calling lies in the realm of the spiritual, and that she- are you there, Edith-Ester? Hello? Hello?”

I’m not going to tag anyone, since I’m late on the bandwagon for this one, but feel free to do it! It’s fun and easy. :)

Meme Number Three 10 Signs I’ve Written a Book (tagged by Gautami)
Gautami didn’t list any rules, but I’m assuming I’m supposed to describe ten features of a book I’ve written.
1. It’s probably non-fiction, something to do with contemporary international relations.
2. But since that makes the meme less fun, let’s say it’s historical fiction set in Russia.
3. I love the Decemberists, so let’s make it about them (or, I’d make it about the creation of St. Petersburg).
4. There would not be any adverbs. I hate adverbs, especially when they’re attached to dialogue (i.e.-“I can’t believe you did that!,” he said angrily.). It makes it seem like the author doesn’t trust her own writing or the reader.
5. There would be neat quotes/epigrams at the beginning of every chapter (I love that! And with Russian lit, so many cool choices).
6. There would also be a pronunciation guide in a list of characters at the beginning-very important for international fiction!
7. There might be some verb tense confusion, at least until a good editor got a hold of it: for some reason, I flit between tenses without evn noticing in my academic papers-I have no clue if that would transfer into fiction.
8. There would also be British spellings, since that’s what I default to from my early years.
9. There would be a real ending: none of that leaving the reader in suspence, but none of that tacked-on epilogue silly stuff either. And I would try to make my favourite characters end happily (it might be a Crime and Punishment style happy ending, though).
10. I would shamelessly attempt to get a free trip to Russia out of the whole book promotion process.

Well, I don’t know if I’m supposed to tag people or not! So, I’m just going to tag three: Chris (because I know he wrote a book during NaNoMo, and I want to hear about it!), Kim L (because I know she writes at least short stories, she’s pretty new to book blogging, so hopefully she won’t be mad at me for tagging her!), and MsP (because she’s also new to the blogosphere, and I got to know her through my meme, so obviously she’s not averse to them!).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2008 10:37 pm

    I’m a big fan of Netflix and they have an awesome catalog of classic movies…they haven’t raised their prices recently either…highly recommend them ;)

    Love your book meme! You should do NaNo this year! You still have 9 months to prepare! I was scared to death of getting tagged for this one :p But I’ll do it!

  2. February 7, 2008 10:50 pm

    OK … I should have included Project Runway and Lost:)

  3. February 8, 2008 3:17 am

    Looks like there have been a lot of memes going around. They are so much fun. I especially liked your answers for the last one.

  4. February 8, 2008 5:10 am

    Thanks for doing this. I would grab your book. I will also write a glowing review for it.

    Btw, I too did the Book meme page 123. Do check it out, if you have time!

  5. February 8, 2008 6:04 am

    I would definitely read your book, especially if you have a “Crime & Punishment” ending. Epigrams are always a good idea. I always enjoy reading those.

    Oh, I haven’t watched a lot of the stuff you watch – but I am a big fan of “Bones”. I’ve recently watched Season 1 & 2 and I really like that over-the-top cluelessness of Brennan. But Booth is fun (in an “Angel” sort of goofiness)

  6. February 8, 2008 2:55 pm

    Eva, do you read Russian literature in the original text, or in translation? And what do you think of the quality of Russian literary translation? I heard bad things about recent translations of Tolstoy, but have no idea whether this is true.

  7. February 9, 2008 12:26 am

    Chris, I had Netflix in college and I really like it! But right now I just don’t have time to watch movies, lol. And I don’t think I’d be very good at NaNo-I’m not a fiction writer. lol I can’t wait to read your answers!

    BookGal, yay Project Runway! I saw the first season of Lost when it was on DVD via Blockbuster, but I never followed up on it.

    Aka Nik, glad you liked the answers!

    Gautami, no problem!

    Dark Orpheus, see-if only I could actually *write* like Dostoevsky. lol As it is, I think it’ll remain a figment. Glad to see another Bones fan!!! I love watching all of the relationships-I got seasons one and two for Christmas, so I’ve been in heaven. :)

    Catherine, I do both, but I’ve only read whole novels in English: I do read excerpts in Russian and short stories! The most recent translation of War and Peace is actually the best-it’s by the team of Larissa Volokhonsky and Richard Pevear (they’re a wife/husband team-she’s Russian he’s American). All of their translations are just stunning! I think their most recent one has made a lot of people trash talk Constance Garnett, which is probably what you’ve read about. :) I haven’t seen any critique of them, but I could be wrong.

  8. February 9, 2008 7:43 am

    Ahhh, Project Runway. I watch very little TV, and really can’t stomach reality TV. With the major exception of Project Runway. Total addicts here…me, Annie, and my husband!

  9. Cass permalink
    February 10, 2008 1:51 am

    Aww thanks for the tag Eva! I’m really starting to dig these memes!

  10. February 10, 2008 3:38 pm

    No I will not be mad at you for tagging me for this one :-)

    I’ll have to work on it tonight. Finally some free time to sit and think!

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Ways To Tell A Book Was Written By Me « Stuff as Dreams are Made on

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

