Skip to content

Happy Halloween!

November 1, 2007

Today has been insanely long.  I ran around with my niece doing errands and playing from 11 to 6, and then by 6.30 I was out trick-or-treating with her!  Worth it, though. :)  She went as Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz, and she was pretty adorable.  She doesn’t talk yet, so she couldn’t say trick-or-treat, but she did say ‘please’ at least!

On to the first order of business.  I completed the R.I.P. II Challenge (the first peril) by reading six novels and one short story collection.  I’m in the middle of Dinesen’s Seven Gothic Tales, but I want to really savour them, so I decided not to push it. :) 

The best book: Ghost Writer, but the Bradbury was a very close second
What book could I have done without? The Rest Falls Away; I know a lot of people like it, but it’s not my cup of tea!
Any new authors? Yep-all of them!
Books I did not finish: Well, I’m in the middle of the Dinesen. But I plan on finishing it up in November. I abandoned the second Gleason, Rises the Night.
What did I learn from this challenge? Well, I learned that Bradbury is a really good author. I’ve been avoiding him, but now I can’t remember why! I also realised how much I enjoyed having short stories in my life. And, that I seem to have a thing for YA vampire lit. ;)

Here are the six books I completed, with links to reviews:
Marked by P.C. and Kristin Cast
Twilight by Stephanie Meyers
The House Next Door by Anne River Siddons
The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason
The Ghost Writer by John Harwood
Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

Finally, The Literate Kitten hosted a mini short story challenge. I read “The Monkey’s Paw,” and I was very impressed. It was spooky and sinister, but mainly by suggestion. At first, I thought the diction was a little odd, but that soon righted itself! I also happened to read “The Monkey,” since it’s in the Dinesen book I’ve read. It was a very odd tale, but I enjoyed it. I’ve never thought of the Goddess of Love as a monkey before! I liked that one of the main characters was named Athena. :) I think I’m too tired to say anything intelligent about books right now, lol.

So with that, I hope everyone had a great halloween. I’m off to munch on some of our leftover candy, and watch some Inspector Morse (my library has it on DVD!).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2007 1:41 pm

    Happy Halloween to you too (a day late)! I found a new love for Bradbury too during this challenge. Started with Something Wicked this Way Comes and ended with The Halloween Tree. He really is a wonderful writer! This was such a fun challenge. Kinda sad that it’s over…kinda sad that Halloween’s over actually, but oh well…I suppose I should start Christmas shopping now, lol!

  2. November 1, 2007 1:50 pm

    Aww, sounds like you had a great Halloween. I wish I had some of my little cousins around so I could have taken them trick-or-treating.
    Congrats on finishing your challenge – you did great!

  3. November 1, 2007 3:17 pm

    It sounds like you had a fantabulous halloween!! Congrats on finishing the RIP challenge. I barely squeaked in under the wire with Frankenstein, but I’m soooo glad I did. And I really really have to read Marked! Better put it on my bookmooch list while I’m thinking about it.

  4. November 1, 2007 5:24 pm

    It sounds like you had a lovely time :)

    It seems that quite a few of us learned about Bradbury’s wonderfulness during this challenge!

  5. November 1, 2007 10:36 pm

    I completed the challenge, too! Yay, us!

    Just a reminder: you might want to put your new blog url in the comments form when you visit other people’s blogs. So they’ll be brought here instead of to the old place.

    I think I visited here the other day and thought it was your old blog just redecorated! I’m not too observant, I guess. :)

  6. November 1, 2007 11:22 pm

    Congrats on completing the challenge! I’m still reading one of my bonus books, and I didn’t want to rush it either. I read Twilight last year and really enjoyed it, and The Monkey’s Paw is a real classic, isn’t it? I don’t think anyone ever forgets that short story!

  7. November 2, 2007 12:07 am

    Good on you! So glad you were able to read those two short stories. The Dinesen one is very odd, isn’t it? But I couldn’t stop turning the pages!

    I look forward to your comments on the whole of her gothic tales…

  8. November 3, 2007 6:42 am

    Great job! I didn’t quite finish the RIP II Challenge. I have one more short story in the Edith Wharton Ghost Stories book. I believe I’ll be reserving the Bradbury book for the RIP III Challenge. =)

  9. November 5, 2007 7:39 am

    Chris, thanks! I’ll have to check out The Halloween Tree next year. :)

    Iliana, thanks! I did have a lot of fun; the only problem is that my neighbourhood doesn’t really have street lights. So, the flashlight came in handy!

    Andi, congrats! We had to read Frankenstein for one of my first college classes, and I found the literature on it fascinating (esp. the parallels to the philosophical debate over the French Revolution).

    Nymeth, yep-Bradbury definitely impressed a lot of us!

    Dewey, congrats! Thanks for reminding me…I’m trying to remember, but sometimes I hit ‘enter’ without thinking.

    Jenclair, it was so creepy!

    LK, it was odd but compelling-definitely agree with you.

    Petunia, oh, RIP III plans already, lol.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

