Skip to content

Library Loot: August 10th

August 10, 2012

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!
Vlog

Titles Mentioned

  • The Puttermesser papers by Cynthia Ozick
  • The Indian lawyer by James Welch
  • The Anvil of the world by Kage Baker
  • Edge of empire by Maya Jasanoff
  • In the footsteps of the prophet by Tariq Ramadan
  • Migrations and cultures by Thomas Sowell
  • Lilith’s brood by Octavia E. Butler
  • Why read the classics? by Italo Calvino
  • The blue fox by Sjon
  • A quiet revolution by Leila Ahmed

Apologies for the minimal post today and poor formatting of the titles. Hopefully I’ll be able to fix them and get these added to LibraryThing and have some covers for you eventually, but right now my left arm is so messed up from a vaccine I got yesterday that I’m essentially functioning w only one arm. Which makes active computer work go v slowly! At least I can still scroll in my Google Reader so I can read all of your wonderful blogs!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 9:25 am

    I’m glad to see Thistle again! Enjoy your books!

  2. August 10, 2012 9:53 am

    It was very nice to see another vlog! Looks like a good selection of books. I’m curious about the Why Read the Classics? nonfiction book as I’m currently trying to read 50 classics I’ve missed and would love some context.

  3. Vipula permalink
    August 10, 2012 10:17 am

    I hope you feel better soon. I liked the video blog..it was a nice change. Maybe you could do more of these if you have the time.

    • August 10, 2012 12:37 pm

      Hi Vipula! I’ve actually been doing video blogs for quite awhile now in my Library Loot posts. Not always, but as often as I could! So if you scroll back through them, you’ll find more vlogs. :)

  4. aartichapati permalink
    August 10, 2012 11:05 am

    I really enjoyed The Anvil of the World, so I’m going to take credit as the blogger who you vaguely remember recommending it ;-) I want to hear your thoughts on how Baker approached race in the book – it was really interesting. Also, just a fun, funny story.

  5. August 10, 2012 12:34 pm

    A book that looks similar to Migrations and Cultures is The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson. I haven’t read it yet but it immediately came to mind and has a 4.31 on Goodreads and sounds excellent.

  6. August 10, 2012 1:33 pm

    I’m not familiar with any of those but I hope you enjoy them!

  7. August 10, 2012 10:06 pm

    Happy reading – that is quite a list. Love seeing thistle.

  8. August 11, 2012 11:58 am

    Looks like a great haul, Eva! I’ve been limited to Octavia Butler’s short stories thus far, but I’ve really loved them. Looking forward to reading some of her novels. Also, I’ve had Ozick on my shelves FOREVER but I really need to get off my duff and read some of those, too.

  9. August 11, 2012 10:39 pm

    Can’t wait to read your review of Tariq Ramadan’s In the Footsteps of the Prophet. A number of people have weighed in with their opinions of Ramadan. Would love to read what you have to say about his book. Always nice to see you!!

  10. August 13, 2012 7:54 pm

    I checked Why Read the Classics out of the library in April, and after only reading a couple essays liked it so much I bought my own copy…and haven’t touched it since. But enjoyable though. I have yet to try any of Calvino’s novels, but I’m very curious about them.

  11. August 16, 2012 10:39 am

    great choices I look forward to your views on the Calvino ,all the best stu

  12. August 28, 2012 5:46 am

    I love your videos. Love all the books you got, you always have such interesting finds.

  13. boardinginmyforties permalink
    September 8, 2012 5:20 pm

    I am very interested to read Edge of Empire and In the Footsteps of the Prophet. I will look forward to your reviews of all of your books and especially these.

Trackbacks

  1. Loving My New Local Library… | Savidge Reads
  2. Savidge Reads Library Loot #1 | Savidge Reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

