Skip to content

Sunday Salon: the Embarrassed Post

August 5, 2012

Guys, I’m embarrassingly far behind in blogging about the books I’ve read this year. I haven’t even talked about much from the latter half of March, and here it is August! Eek! Let’s do something about that, shall we?

Books I Loved and Found Every Page a Delight


Reread The Odyssey by Homer, trans. by Robert Fagles if…you’re in the mood for an epic, amusing tale or looking for an excellent audiobook (Ian McKellen narrates!).

Books I Would Have Loved, Except for One or Two Little Quibbles or Books I Really, Really Liked


Read Fictions by Jorge Luis Borges, trans. by Anthony Kerrigan if…you love authors who play with language or want a book that will keep you on your toes.


Read Lonely Planet Urban Photography by Richard I’Anson if…you’re planning a trip and want more advice on travel photography; you’ll find lots of concrete ideas you can use.

Read Legends of the Plumed Serpent by Neil Baldwin if…you’re curious about the Aztecs and their myths and are open to a more meditative, stream-of-conscious approach to the topic.


Reread The Secret History by Donna Tartt if…you attended a liberal arts college and are feeling nostalgic or you’re in the mood for something a bit gothic.

Read Focus on Composing Photos by Peter Ensenberger if…you enjoy photography and are looking for a short book full of helpful ideas to improve.

Books I Definitely Liked, Although They Didn’t Blow Me Away or Books that had Great Points Counterbalanced by Not-Great Ones


Read Globejotting by Dave Fox if…you’re looking for advice on how to keep a travel journal and can overlook some corny humour in exchange for lots of excellent, concrete tips (although in retrospect, I would have just read through his site rather than pay for the ebook).

Read Death of a Travelling Man by M.C. Beaton if…you enjoy the Hamish series and can overlook some troubling gender issues.


Read Zeitoun by Dave Eggers if…your favourite type of nonfiction is the modern ‘narrative’ style that includes dialogue and peeks into what people are actually thinking and you are concerned about social justice issues.

Books That Aren’t For Me but I Didn’t Loathe Them or Anything


Read The Mindful Traveler by Jim Currie if…you’re quite into new age philosophy and are more interested in advice on ‘journalling for self transformation’ than travel journalling.


Read Focus on Photographing People by Haje Jan Kamps if…you have a lot of expensive/professional-level photography equipment and can thus put Kamps’ advice into action.

The Sunday Salon.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2012 9:39 am

    It seems as if it has been forever since I’ve stopped by here. Sorry your health is not as good as you would wish. Your blog is as wonderful as ever.

  2. August 5, 2012 2:35 pm

    Isn’t The Secret History great? I read it for the first time back in the fall and I already want to reread.

  3. August 5, 2012 3:49 pm

    Focus on Composing Photos may be useful for me. I have a small collections of unusual point and shoot cameras that all take actual film. They’re all about composition.

  4. Rayna (Libereading) permalink
    August 6, 2012 7:25 am

    The Secret History is one of those books that I have been meaning to read for a really long time. Thanks for the reminder!

    :)

  5. Beth F permalink
    August 6, 2012 8:10 am

    I just love Hamish!

  6. August 8, 2012 1:01 pm

    The Secret History is coming up for my book club in October. Sounds like a prime time for a re-read to me! And I’ve often said I’d never read the Odyssey again (three times as an undergrad), but with Ian McKellen narrating, I could be persuaded!

  7. August 14, 2012 2:40 pm

    I’ve hesitated to read The Secret History because books with a lot of hype tend to make me apprehensive but I think I’m finally ready to try it.

    If your health allows you to elaborate, I am curious about your reservations with Zeitoun.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

