Skip to content

A Talisman

August 4, 2012


photo credit

Like many other passionate readers, I always carry a book. What if there’s a traffic jam? What if the dentist is running late? This Penguin prepares me for emergencies that make the reasuurance of rereading especially gratifying. A talisman, safety against the unexpected, it’s a comfortable book, the more so for being dog-eared and slightly faded.

-Patricia Meyer Spacks, On Rereading

P.S.: For those who are interested, I’ve finally done a post about Mexico! Lots of pics, with a bit of writing, all about the Metropolitan Cathedral, which happened to be the first ‘sight’ of our trip.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2012 12:41 pm

    Loved the Mexico post! Amazing pictures! The first and last are the most stunning. Visiting Latin America is a dream of mine-hope it’ll transform into reality someday…

    I’ve encountered references about ‘On rereading’ on so many bookblogs that I’m seriously considering giving it a try although my reading habits don’t include rereading. Ha, I even took a book with me at the hospital when I had to get surgery-it was comforting somehow.

    I’m happy to see many new posts on this blog! :)

  2. August 6, 2012 2:57 pm

    I always take a waugh penguin when I go to the hospital with Amanda as the fit so well in the pocket ,all the best stu

  3. August 8, 2012 7:55 pm

    Yes and Amen!!!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 550 other followers

