Skip to content

TSS: Rebuilding

June 24, 2012


photo credit

It’s strange knowing that I haven’t blogged regularly since the latter part of April. It’s even stranger that I stopped recording what books I’d read. I almost feel like when I was a newbie, that panicky sense of not really knowing what to write or how to approach a post or even if I should. Fortunately, I have a structure to fall back on, and I really hope I can re-establish the blogging habit. I miss it, and I miss you.

This afternoon, I was feeling a bit down, so I decided to give myself a task: begin piecing together the list of books I read during my break. I’ve managed to remember eighteen so far. As I looked over the list, I realised part of why I felt unmoored is that I completely retreated from my normal reading habits: next to no nonfiction or POC or international authors or even classics, just a whole bunch of contemporary fantasy and mysteries written by white US-UK authors with some historical fiction thrown in to leaven things. There’s nothing inherently wrong with that mix (and I’ve found a couple new favourite authors! I’ll tell you about another one tomorrow), but it just isn’t working for me. I miss the breadth of my normal reading world. Once I publish this post, I plan to go back to my usual ‘rotation’ style reading with a variety of books to keep my attention. At least, I plan to give it a try and hope it works out.

It’s almost frightening how quickly habits can disappear. A regular blogging habit, a habit of searching out various kinds of books, a habit of pushing myself in my reading and writing and life. It’s been a nice hibernation, and I’m sure it’s what I needed at the time, but my growing restlessness tells me it’s time to resume my old ways. I just hope they’re still there waiting for me.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2012 6:44 pm

    I didn’t really keep track of my reading in 2008 randomly. It kind of makes me sad because I will think of a book I was pretty sure I read, but I can’t find anything about it. My blogging sucked, too… At the time I just kind of fell off the wagon entirely.

  2. June 24, 2012 6:46 pm

    It’s nice to see you back! You’ll get back in your old groove before you know it!

  3. June 24, 2012 7:11 pm

    I think sometimes it can be useful to set aside a habit for a while to see if that habit is still useful or if it’s just … a habit.

  4. June 24, 2012 7:15 pm

    I know just what you mean about habits. Hopefully you’ll be back in the swing of things here soon!

  5. June 24, 2012 8:09 pm

    Not only are they waiting for you, but also we are here waiting for you. :)

  6. June 24, 2012 8:20 pm

    We’ll be glad to see you back here more often!

  7. June 24, 2012 8:21 pm

    Sometimes we just need a break from routine or to sink into a comfort read. Although I won’t complain if you’re posting regularly again — I love reading your reviews! :)

  8. June 24, 2012 8:34 pm

    I hope you enjoy the return to the blog! I’ll look forward to more posts, I love your reviews and your wonderful variety of choices.

  9. June 24, 2012 9:20 pm

    Oh Eva, I’m so sorry that it’s been so hard for you that even your reading has been affected. I am happy to hear that you have been reading so many mysteries, and that you have found a couple of new favourite authors in this area. You always read so widely before, so I’d consider this a little mini-holiday into ‘brain candy time’….sometimes, the mind needs a rest while it works through some things, and definitely ill health – and your chronic condition – means that sometimes, just reading will have to be enough.

    Welcome back, I’ve missed you too :-)

  10. June 24, 2012 9:39 pm

    I too am recreating about six months of reading because I stopped keeping track so I feel for you. I am glad you are back and I look forward to whatever you write.

  11. Kristen M. permalink
    June 25, 2012 12:21 am

    I’ve definitely discovered over the past few years that I’m a cyclical reader with periods of well-balanced choices and periods of rereading and easier comfort reads. There’s nothing wrong with that! I hope that you just always feel satisfied with what you are doing. And, selfishly, I hope that you get back to blogging. :)

  12. June 25, 2012 2:34 am

    Hope it all gets back to normal for you soon :) I had a big discussion on translated literature on my blog last week, so that idea of a variety of books is one that’s been on my mind too recently!

  13. June 25, 2012 6:11 am

    Welcome back :) Habits can disappear quickly, and I think your plan of getting back to a routine is a good one because just trying to reform them otherwise is difficult. It’s a good idea sometimes to read something completely different for a while, you appreciate what you love so much more.

  14. June 25, 2012 6:22 am

    Wow, you definitely jusr summed up how I’ve felt when I’ve gone on blogcation. Hope you’re back in the swing of things, soon. We miss you! :O)

  15. June 25, 2012 7:12 am

    So glad to see you back! Sometimes a break gets the juices flowing again. I hope that happens for you.

  16. June 25, 2012 7:23 am

    We’re here! Glad you’re back :-)

  17. June 25, 2012 8:02 am

    Like Stella, you’ll get your groove back.

  18. June 25, 2012 9:15 am

    No need to fret, Eva. Blogging’s like riding a bike – you never really forget the routine.
    It’ll come back to you, especially since you’ve had over 5 years of practice.

    Good to have you back.

  19. June 25, 2012 1:47 pm

    Hello! Good to hear from you again. It’s interesting how your reading habits were changed by blogging and not blogging. I’m sure you’ll get back in the groove.

    • June 25, 2012 9:55 pm

      I don’t think it’s not blogging that changed my reading habits (other than not listing the titles I read!). It’s more that the same funk/fibro brain/moodiness/etc. affected *both* my reading & blogging habits. You know?

  20. June 25, 2012 6:46 pm

    I totally get it. My reading and blogging has been absolute crap this year, mainly because I’ve been busy with other things. But I miss it too. And I totally know what you’re saying about how reading outside your normal patterns can really throw you off track. I’m craving my old reading habits but for some reason haven’t been able to find the time (or make the time, to tell the truth – I’ve been prioritizing other things). I’m glad to see you back and I can’t wait to hear about some of your new favorite authors!

  21. June 26, 2012 4:34 pm

    Glad to have you back! Take your time, and it will all get back to you, no sweat. We’ve missed you, too ;)

  22. June 29, 2012 3:11 pm

    nice see you back Eva I been blogging less just busy work and home wise a lot last few months plus like you say easy to lose habit of doing it ,all the best stu

  23. July 23, 2012 7:45 pm

    We’ve missed you Eva! As you can probably tell, my blogging has been hit or miss the last couple of months as well since I’m just now finding the time to comment :) Hopefully we will both get back to books and blogging!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers

