Skip to content

Viva Mexico!

May 30, 2012


photo credit

I should know better by now than to promise any kind of regular schedule, however tentative. ;) Let’s just say that life got really busy, between transforming all of my trip research into helpful distillations, my sister’s (and her best friend’s, who’s spent much of this year living with us and has pretty much been adopted into our family) graduation from a master’s program, the birthday celebrations of the sixteen-year-old sister of said best friend (visiting from out of town, and thus dependent on us to give her a good time!), and yet more doctor’s appointments with new diagnoses and new treatment plans (my Sjogren’s has morphed in rheumatoid arthritis and my liver is still cranky, which means the most common first treatment option is unavailable to me) and all of the paperwork necessary to try to get me back on my parents’ health insurance. Through all of this, I was determined to keep my health as strong as possible, which meant lots of downtime, so blogging just wasn’t in the cards. I did sneak in a little reading here and there and have finally gotten out of a mini reading slump (finished three books in a row!) just in time for my trip.

All of that is a preface to say: my bag (a 33 liter backpack) is packed, my Nook is loaded, and my mom and I will be in Mexico this morning (yep, that would be the 30th, not 29th; apparently I’m awful at remembering which months have 31 days)! I’ll see you guys in June; I promise there will be photos (I’m bringing 72gb in memory cards and two batteries in preparation). And perhaps even some bookish talk. ;)

P.S. Thank you to everyone who’s taken the time to leave a comment despite my irregular presence! Your support, good wishes, and understanding mean the world to me.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 5:47 am

    How wonderful for you both! I’m sure I don’t have to encourage you to have a great time, but I’ll do so anyway. Look forward to the pics when you return.

  2. May 30, 2012 5:53 am

    I hope you’re having a blast!

  3. May 30, 2012 6:47 am

    Love you freakin’ bag. In fact I spent a few minutes on Bean’s site looking for one that I MIGHT purchase. ;-)

    Can’t wait to hear about Mexico. Enjoy and be safe.

  4. May 30, 2012 6:53 am

    I hope you have a fabulous time in Mexico! Can’t wait to see your pictures!

  5. May 30, 2012 8:20 am

    Have an amazing trip!

  6. May 30, 2012 8:20 am

    Have a wonderful time, Eva! I can’t wait to hear about your trip and see your pictures.

  7. May 30, 2012 8:36 am

    Hope you have the best time :)

  8. May 30, 2012 9:03 am

    I hope you have a wonderful time Eva! I can’t wait to hear about your trip

    If you ever want to remember if a month has 30 days, use the knuckle test: http://lifehacker.com/232828/macgyver-tip-use-your-knuckles-to-remember-each-months-days

  9. May 30, 2012 10:24 am

    If I knew the Spanish equivalent of Bon Voyage, I’d write it here now! Have a wonderful time while you’re away (and I’m so glad you are taking a reasonable size pack and not some huge behemoth!) and I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures when you get back! You will have the BEST time!

  10. May 30, 2012 10:42 am

    Have a glorious trip!

  11. May 30, 2012 6:34 pm

    Have a wonderful trip!

  12. May 30, 2012 6:46 pm

    Lord that sounds like a lot of things! I hope you are doing okay and that you have a wonderful trip to Mexico!

  13. May 31, 2012 6:13 am

    May you and your Mom have the adventure of a lifetime!!! In all the most wonderful of ways!!!

  14. May 31, 2012 11:57 am

    I hope you have a wonderful time!!

  15. May 31, 2012 12:10 pm

    I hope you and your mom are having a great time in Mexico. Safe journeys!

  16. May 31, 2012 1:31 pm

    have a great trip ,all the best stu

  17. May 31, 2012 2:16 pm

    All the best; enjoy yourselves and keep safe. Blessings!

  18. June 1, 2012 1:24 am

    Aw, have a great time in Mexico, Eva!! I’m just so damn sad to hear you’ve been feeling so awful lately :(

  19. She permalink
    June 2, 2012 3:09 pm

    Have an amazing time!

  20. June 3, 2012 12:45 pm

    Have a great time!

  21. June 3, 2012 9:13 pm

    have a wonderful time!!! :-)

  22. June 4, 2012 4:27 pm

    Have a great trip, look after yourself and post when you are ready!

  23. June 5, 2012 6:00 pm

    Oh have so much fun!

  24. June 6, 2012 6:07 am

    I’m so sorry to read about your rheumatoid arthritis, I hope that your new treatment works well. Have a fantastic time in Mexico!

  25. June 9, 2012 4:55 pm

    I hope you are enjoying yourself in Mexico!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

