Skip to content

Library Loot: March 21st to 27th

March 23, 2012

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Vlog

Titles Mentioned
Urban Travel Photography by Richard I’Anson
Travel Photography by Susan McCartney
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Alone Together by Sherry Turkle
Nothing to Declare by Mary Morris
Conquests and Cultures by Thomas Sowell
Dog Sense by John Bradshaw
Zeitoun by Dave Eggers (forgot to vlog about, because it’s the ebook version, but it’s for my library book club hosted by Karen of Books and Chocolate)

(P.S. I know I haven’t been around as much lately. Sorry about that! I’ve started independently studying a bit of Spanish in preparation for my trip to Mexico, and since I’m writing out flashcards/exercises, that leaves my hands with a smaller typing quote that before. With any luck, I’ll have my approaches more balanced soon. Or, since I just started acupuncture, maybe that will improve my hands enough to let me do both!)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 9:37 am

    I haven’t read To Kill A Mockingbird in years. Enjoy!

  2. March 23, 2012 11:13 am

    Good luck with your Spanish! It’s such a wonderful language. I also can’t wait for your pictures of Mexico… Maybe I will be able to go there somewhere too! And I definitely have to look up “Nothing to Declare”, sounds like something that might really interest me.

  3. March 23, 2012 1:40 pm

    It sounds like you’re going to be taking photos in Mexico! I hope you’ll share some of them with us.

  4. Terri B. permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:40 pm

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of Thomas Sowell. I’ve read some of his writing on economics and have heard him speak. I’m very interested in Conquests and Cultures.

    LOVE the glasses! Definitely librarian chic!

  5. March 23, 2012 2:32 pm

    So cool that you’re learning Spanish! I like watching movies in Spanish to improve my accent, though the Spanish spoken in Spain is a little different, much like American English vs. British English. ‘To Kill a Mockingbird ‘ has been on my to-read list for what seems like forever! And I laughed at your puppy voice thing, all dog owners have one!

    P.S. Good luck with your acupuncture!

  6. March 23, 2012 2:38 pm

    Have fun in Mexico. Take a book along!

  7. samantha1020 permalink
    March 23, 2012 7:11 pm

    I LOVE To Kill A Mockingbird!!! And I’m really interested to read your thoughts on it! I hope that you enjoy all of these :)

  8. March 23, 2012 7:26 pm

    Your glasses are very cute :)

  9. boardinginmyforties permalink
    March 24, 2012 1:28 pm

    You and Thistle both look adorable as always! I enjoy hearing about all of your books but especially the non-fiction ones since I read so much non-fiction and am always looking for good recommendations.

  10. March 24, 2012 3:20 pm

    Conquests and Cultures sounds fascinating.
    And those glasses look really good on you! Definitely librarian chic! :)

    I’ve had acupuncture 2 x 3 times years ago for muscle tension in my upper back and neck and just a word of warning: both times the 3rd time of the series was kind of painful (a little, not too much). I remember the doctor saying that that happens often. The first time you don’t feel the needles at all, the 2nd time is the same or you feel them a little and the third time might be a bit uncomfortable at first.

  11. March 24, 2012 7:44 pm

    Conquests and Cultures sounds great! Having recently become interested in photography myself, I also think the two books on that sound fascinating and will no doubt get you even more excited for your trip to Mexico!

  12. March 26, 2012 12:32 pm

    have fun in mexico Eva ,all the best stu

  13. March 27, 2012 3:37 am

    Sissy Spacek was an inspired choice to narrate TKAM.

  14. March 27, 2012 1:07 pm

    Few things in life as joyful and gratifying as learning a different language!

    As for Mockingbird: the man who wrote the screenplay for that movie changed my life.

    Both the novel and the film are luminous.

  15. March 27, 2012 7:00 pm

    Definitely looking forward to knowing what you think about Zeitoun. I was very unsettled by it, as one should be, I suppose.

  16. April 3, 2012 11:15 am

    OH WOW!!! You get to go to Karen’s library book club! That. Is. Awesome. SQUUUEEEeeeeee I’m just thrilled for all of you.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

