Skip to content

For Every Mood

February 18, 2012


photo credit

Books became her friends and there was one for every mood. There was poetry for quiet companionship. There was adventure when she tired of quiet hours. There would be love stories when she came into adolescence and when she wanted to feel a closeness to someone she could read a biography. On that day when she first knew she could read, she made a vow to read one book a day as long as she lived.

-Betty Smith, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 9:35 am

    My library system online told me they had a copy of A Tree Grows In Brooklyn at my local library, I went today and was most disappointed that they didn’t actually have it. It’s one I’ve wanted to read for a while.

  2. February 19, 2012 7:43 am

    This sounds like the kind of book I would normally read if I weren’t bound by a ‘Classics’ challenge. *Sigh!*

    But I will be on the look out for A Tree Grows In Brooklyn and find time to read it anyway!

    • February 20, 2012 12:24 pm

      I don’t know how strict your classics definition is, but this was written in 1940.

      • February 21, 2012 2:46 am

        Oh I feel so stupid! I must have gotten a little mixed up :/ Either ways, my definition of classics isn’t very strict tho I was actually referring to the books in my 2012 challenge. My bad.

  3. August 20, 2012 8:31 am

    Thanks for using my photo. I appreciate the credit.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

