Skip to content

Library Loot: November 16th to 23rd

November 18, 2011

Titles Mentioned
500 Great Books by Women by Erica Bauermeister
Let’s Hear It for the Girls by Erica Bauermeister
Death of a Perfect Wife by M. C. Beaton
The Oxford Book of Twentieth-Century Ghost Stories by Michael Cox
Acacia: The War with the Mein by David Anthony Durham
The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie*
The Trial by Franz Kafka
Ghost Hunters by Deborah Blum*
In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination by Margaret Atwood
The Reenchantment of Art by Suzi Gablik
The Secret History by Donna Tartt*
River of Smoke by Amitav Ghosh
Proust and the Squid by Maryanne Wolf*
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
The Dead Path by Stephen M. Irwin
The Fear Sign by Margery Allingham
Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley*

Get the details in my LibraryThing collection!

(For those who don’t watch the vlog, I starred the titles that I’ve already read and have out for my rereading project.)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 7:13 am

    I was just looking at 500 Great Books by Women at the library on Tuesday! It looked so good, but unfortunately it was from the resources shelves that can’t be checked out. :(

    • November 22, 2011 4:25 pm

      Awww. Well, I was planning on adding all of the books I wanted to read from it to my LT wish list, so I’ll add a special tag and then send you a link!

  2. Ioana permalink
    November 18, 2011 8:53 am

    I’m living vicariously through your reading since school and other stuff gets sometimes in the way :(. They all sound really great. You’ll surely enjoy Kafka, read it in high school and it had a major impact on me: I wanted more of those ‘hard’ books that makes you concentrate and think . Other than that, ‘The Secret History’ is really amazing. You’re lucky that you don’t get scared too easily haha!

  3. Nikki permalink
    November 18, 2011 10:30 am

    I love your library loot posts, although my stack gets higher everytime! Also, I love the Hamish Macbeth series, and I think the audio books are awesome, you should try one.

    • November 22, 2011 4:26 pm

      Thanks for the rec! I’ll definitely look out for the audios. :)

  4. November 18, 2011 10:59 am

    Yay! So excited to see you have The Secret History checked out… I’m currently reading it (only about 100 pages in, and this is my first time), and it’s nice to know that in some way we could be reading buddies!

    Also, The Satanic Verses was my second Rushdie, but I loved it so much. It’s such a wonderful feat of literature. It’s on my list of books to re-read some day, because I do think it’s one of those books that you just can’t fully digest on a single read.

    • November 22, 2011 4:27 pm

      Can’t wait to see what you make of Secret History! I’ll try to get to it sooner rather than later. :)

  5. November 18, 2011 2:53 pm

    Both of the Erica Bauermeister books sounds great to me!

  6. November 18, 2011 4:40 pm

    Thistle is looking particularly adorable this week! I’m really looking forward to the Atwood book so am excited to see what you make of it. And, finding it impossible to resist book lists in book form, I am going to have to track down those Erica Bauermeister’s titles as well. Enjoy your loot!

    • November 22, 2011 4:26 pm

      I actually bathed her a few days before the vlog, hence her cuteness. ;)

  7. November 19, 2011 2:50 am

    The Bauermeister books both look like a lot of fun.

  8. November 19, 2011 12:55 pm

    I really really enjoyed Acacia when I read it last year – it goes from strength to strength; the final few chapters are incredibly powerful – and am looking forward to reading the second book The Other Lands. I thought I’d written about it at Alexandria, but apparently not according to my index. Never mind. I haven’t heard of Jemisin till now but will definitely check it out now.

  9. November 19, 2011 3:29 pm

    I keep meaning to read The Secret History. Thanks for the reminder!

  10. November 20, 2011 2:33 pm

    I liked Kafka. I read Metamorphosis in high school on my own, and then read The Trial and the complete collection of his short stories for classes in college. The Trial reminds me of how I felt in my first semester of law school. Not a good place to be in, but the writing is good.

  11. November 20, 2011 4:53 pm

    Such a great loot you have there! I was just visiting my favorite bookstore today and saw The River of Smoke. I’m almost sure I’ll ask Santa to bring it to me this Christmas! :) I still have Sea of Poppies in my TBR pile, though, but I’ll get to it and the sequal eventually.

  12. November 21, 2011 6:17 pm

    Yay for 500 Great Books by Women! I love that book. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, In Other Worlds, and Proust and the Squid. Happy reading!

  13. November 23, 2011 11:57 am

    I loved Ghost Hunters! I was able to buy a hb remains copy for $5 after reading it from my library. I knew I’d want to re-read it, so bought it. How could I not buy it for $5?

    You pronounced Acacia correctly. In fact, that is an Acacia tree on the cover. My in-laws live on Acacia Street :)

  14. November 27, 2011 10:35 am

    These are my fav posts, sorry I am so rubbish at catching up with them.

    I must, must, must read Ghost Hunters, I borrowed it from the library once and never ended up reading it and someone reserved it. I am dipping into In Other Worlds at the moment and am loving it, the cover of yours is fabulous.

    I am thrilled you love M.C. Beaton… have you read the Agatha Raisin series she does, they are my favourites.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

