Skip to content

Library Loot: January 28-February 3, 2009

January 28, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post any time during the week-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Whew-I have so many books from the library piled up, that I only got three more this time. Funnily enough, they’re all non-fiction. (Although I just found out this morning I finally got to the head of the queue for Nation by Terry Pratchett! yay!)

libraryloot

From left to right: Blonde Like Me by Natalia Ilyin (an impulse after I came across in the library catalog looking up something else), Proust Was a Neuroscientist by Jonah Lehrer (for the Science Book challenge), The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama (he’s our president! he’s our president! *squee*)

Want to play along?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 9:53 am

    Great picks! I didn’t get any books this past week. Which is fine, got plenty already.

  2. January 28, 2009 9:56 am

    Love it! I just saw a review of Blonde Like Me on another blog, and it completely slips my mind which one it was. Hmm. That’s gonna bug me now.

    I hope you enjoy The Audacity of Hope as much as I did! And I have Nation in the review stacks. I’m such a slacker at getting around to these great books.

  3. January 28, 2009 10:14 am

    I didn’t finish “The Audacity…” but this was before he became prez, so perhaps it’s time to retry. I’m a bad American!

  4. January 28, 2009 10:36 am

    Interesting choices,I am not familiar with the first two. I’ll watch for your reviews. I had a great library week.

  5. January 28, 2009 10:51 am

    Hi!
    If I have this posted twice, I’m sorry. I posted it somewhere, anyway, I am so glad someone has done this kind of meme. 99% of my books come from the library, so this will be great for me. Mine is posted if you want to take a look. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  6. January 28, 2009 11:04 am

    I really want to read those last two books. But I had to resist at the library this week — I have so much to read and so much to do!

    I also am just delighted with the new president. I may start following politics again.

  7. January 28, 2009 11:19 am

    I’m sure I can’t wait to hear about Proust was a Neuroscientist! It sounds quirky and I love quirky.

  8. January 28, 2009 12:29 pm

    Since I am a neuroscientist, I will be interesting to hear about how Proust was also one. I suspect this is the kind of book that might make me extremely angry… can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it! ;)

  9. January 28, 2009 1:13 pm

    No library loot for me this week but I am busy putting some books on hold so maybe next week I’ll play :)

  10. January 28, 2009 1:16 pm

    Those look like great books. I actually haven’t been to my library in a month- because its driveway is a hill which wasn’t plowed when I last tried to visit, and my car almost didn’t make it. So I’m waiting until the snow goes away, and using the enforced in-house time to read all those books piled around that I own and haven’t read!

  11. January 28, 2009 2:44 pm

    Oh, Lehrer’s book is great! I think that you’ll really enjoy it.

    And Steph (#8) I don’t think that it’s the kind of book that would make you made. Lehrer is also a neuroscientist; his main thing is explaining neurological discoveries about things like memory and perception and taste, and then exploring how those things were also discovered/foreshadowed by artists and others. (Proust for memory, C├ęzanne for vision, etc.).

    I’m not a scientist by training but I have a strong lay interest in this sort of thing (thank you, AP Psych). Proust was a Neuroscientist is a charming and fascinating read, and also jives with what I do know about how the brain works — nothing coming from far out of left field.

  12. January 28, 2009 2:45 pm

    Oh, automatic happy face conversion. The above post was directed at Steph who posted the eighth comment — not at an emoticon :)

  13. lena permalink
    January 28, 2009 2:46 pm

    I’m saving Audacity of Hope as the LAST book for the US Presidents Reading Challenge. :)

    I can’t wait to read your review.

  14. January 28, 2009 3:18 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read The Audacity of Hope for awhile now. Hope you enjoy it and I’ll look forward to your review :)

  15. January 28, 2009 3:24 pm

    I’ve been trying to get my hands on a copy of Audacity as well. No luck for me! Only a couple of titles for my library loot this week, will try to post tomorrow.

  16. January 28, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hi Eva,

    Love Library Loot. Just joined. Looking forward to getting to know you all better.

    Happy Reading,
    susan

  17. January 28, 2009 10:26 pm

    Care, yeah-I hope there’ll be a week soon when I manage to resist getting any new ones!

    Andi, it was probably me. ;) You have Nation in a review stack?! Shame on you, lol.

    Chartroose, lol-I don’t think you’re a bad American!

    Sandra, I love great library weeks. :)

    Sherrie, I think you posted on the earlier Library Loot as well-don’t worry about it. :D Most of my books come from the library too!

    Rebecca, I’m awful at resisting library books, because they’re free, lol.

    Jeff, it’s definitley quirky. ;)

    Steph, I don’t think it will make you extremely angry, but we’ll see!

    Iliana, yay for holds!

    Jeane, that’s really scary-I’d definitely avoid the library if it wasn’t plowed.

    Christine, I’m three chapters in and definitely enjoying it! (and aren’t those automatic happy faces incredibly annoying?!)

    Lena, that’s a good plan. I lack the courage to undertake something like the US presidents reading challenge-too big!

    Samantha, I hope I enjoy it too, lol.

    Michelle, I went to the website, expecting a ridiculously long hold line, but somehow I got to #1 straight away (now there’s a ridiculously long hold line). I’m something like #53 for Dreams From My Father, lmao.

    Susan, thanks for stopping by! :)

  18. January 29, 2009 7:01 am

    You know, I’ve thought about reading Obama’s book on occasion, and wondered if he’s as good a writer as he is speaker. Perhaps, now that he’s actually president, I should check it out?

  19. January 29, 2009 8:23 am

    It was you. I’m losing my mind. Too many student papers graded has turned my cortex to mush. lol And yes, I’m horrible re: Nation. lol

  20. January 29, 2009 10:19 am

    Melissa, I’m curious about if his writing stands up to his speaking too!

    Andi, awww-sorry I contributed to mind loss. ;)

  21. January 29, 2009 3:59 pm

    Hi Eva,

    Oh, yes, very much enjoying Gaiman. I have read and listened to a handful of him now.

  22. January 29, 2009 5:14 pm

    Saw Audacity of Hope at the library, wanted so much to pick it up, but could barely handle the books I was already carrying!

  23. fleurfisher permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:45 am

    Thank you again for doing this. I’ve left you an award here.

  24. Katie permalink
    January 31, 2009 8:26 am

    I loved The Audacity of Hope; one of the best books I’ve ever read. And it certainly wasn’t easy to get through, but it’s so worth it! I reviewed it about a year ago… highly recommend it!

    http://katies101books.blogspot.com/2008/01/audacity-of-hope-by-barack-obama.html

  25. January 31, 2009 12:00 pm

    I often find good reads in the online catalouge while I’m looking for another book and oh my gosh, that “blonde” does not look like a wig!? I was blonde once when my best friend was first taking a hair design course, big mistake!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers

