Skip to content

Six Word Reviews

February 27, 2008

Inspired by Callista’s tag for the six word memoir meme and the pile of books I need to review, I decided to combine them.  Without further ado, here are my six word reviews:

Rob Roy by Sir Walter Scott: Scottish dialect, heroine has real gumption!

The Winter Queen by Boris Akunin: Unusual style, Imperial Russian newbie sleuth.

A Room With a View by E.M. Forster: Brits meet in Florence. Love ensues.

The Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt: Seventh grader discovers life through Shakespeare.

Khufu’s Wisdom by Naguib Mahfouz: Fable like tale of Ancient Egypt.

The Translator by Daoud Hari: Darfur genocide brought to tragic life.

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs: Fun chick lit until depressing ending.

So just in case I don’t end up getting fuller reviews, there are the snapshots.  Perhaps I’ll start a new wave of book blogging over here!  Forget the deep insights, interesting stylistic devices, memorable characters.  Six words or less-the McBook Review.  Oh-I was supposed to do something about my own life as well, right?  Here goes: IR junkie hopes to become diplomat.  That wasn’t too profound was it?  I think I used up my miniscule cleverness reserve on the reviews.  I’ll give this more thought and maybe have something better tomorrow!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 9:51 pm

    What fun!!!

  2. trish permalink
    February 27, 2008 10:08 pm

    I love it! Very clever. I think The Wednesday Wars sounds most interesting…

  3. February 27, 2008 10:11 pm

    Oooh, that’s a good a idea.
    It gets so daunting when you’re reading faster than you can review. Who needs to be wordy anyways.

  4. February 27, 2008 11:24 pm

    What a clever idea! I hope you don’t mind if I steal it & write some six-word reviews of my own :-)

  5. verbivore permalink
    February 28, 2008 3:55 am

    These were fun and such a great idea! We should all be forced to try economy once in a while on our book reviews!

  6. February 28, 2008 4:39 am

    Oh Eva, those were absolutely brilliant! And despite their brevity, I still wrote down two new titles to check out. Fabulous job!

  7. February 28, 2008 6:45 am

    That was fun. Though I suspect a six-word review is harder to write than a longer one. But finding the essence must be rather enjoyable :)

  8. February 28, 2008 7:18 am

    Love the 6 word reviews! It forces a person to focus on what was enjoyable (or not) about the books. I might have to steal the idea also. . .

    Lezlie

  9. February 28, 2008 9:57 am

    That’s a great idea and I think your six word biography fits you very well.

    cjh

  10. February 28, 2008 10:34 am

    Those are awesome! So creative.

  11. February 28, 2008 10:52 am

    I sort of like those little mini reviews–how fun. Faced with a stack of books like that I think I’d opt for six word ones, too! :) Did you enjoy the Akunin? I’ve read the first and mean to read more.

  12. February 28, 2008 11:31 am

    What a great idea~ I love them!

  13. February 28, 2008 3:02 pm

    Love this! :)

  14. February 28, 2008 3:44 pm

    Oh, wow, maybe I should do that. I’m soooo far behind on reviews. Yours were great! The Wednesday Wars sounds particularly fun. And, thanks for the warning about The Friday Night Knitting Club’s depressing ending.

  15. February 28, 2008 4:15 pm

    SuziQ, glad you liked it!

    Trish, The Wednesday Wars was sooo good. I’m going to have to write a fuller review on it.

    TY, yeah, but I had to leave out so much. Maybe six sentence reviews?

    Jocelyn, I’ll look forward to reading them!

    Verbivore, yeah-I usually go on waaay too long in my reviews. :)

    Debi, thanks! You should do them too. :)

    Stefanie, it was fun, but I came up with some better ones later. And that’s a bit annoying.

    Lezlie, look forward to seeing yours!

    CJ Hill, thanks. :D

    Tara, aww-thanks! I don’t really think about myself as creative, so I appreciate that.

    Danielle, I did enjoy the Akunin! I have an ARC of the latest one to review for CurledUp, so I figured I should at least read the first one in the series.

    JenClair, thanks!

    Iliana, thanks!

    Nancy, I’m glad you liked them. Yeah-I think the Knitting Club should come with a big warning stamp “Unnecessarily depressing ending.” It dropped it down sooo far in my mind.

  16. February 28, 2008 7:20 pm

    WOW, I can’t believe you finished The Friday Night Knitting Club already! Sorry to hear that you didn’t like the ending. When we spoke to the author about the ending, she mentioned that a lot of people didn’t care for the ending and she gets e-mails about it all the time. She decided though that all of the characters in the book were starting to get their lives on track and they needed something to propel them forward and felt that the ending, albeit depressing, would be appropriate. When she said that to us I felt that I understood her reasoning better.

  17. February 28, 2008 8:07 pm

    I liked your reviews. Short. Opposite of the usual in-depth reviews one finds here, but that cool because variety is nice :-)

    Although I imagine it isn’t effortless to distill a book down to 6 words. It would probably take me just as long to come up with a clever 6 word summary as a lengthy one. Guess you’ve just got mad skills at the 6 word summary.

  18. February 28, 2008 8:56 pm

    Stephanie, I loved it right until then; I suspected it was going to happen, but I still think it was gratuitous. So, in my head, I’ve just rewritten the ending, lol. Thanks so much for sending it to me! :)

    Kim, it was kind of nice to do some short reviews. These may become a regular feature! lol @ the mad skills; I reworked the Khufu’s Wisdom, because I didn’t like it all that much.

  19. February 28, 2008 10:04 pm

    What a great idea!!! Way cool.

  20. February 28, 2008 10:36 pm

    Callista, aww-thanks. :)

  21. March 1, 2008 7:06 am

    Oh, what fun! I just loved this. I could never be so cleverly succinct when discussing books.

Trackbacks

  1. Six-Word Reviews « Teen Book Review
  2. More Six Word Reviews « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 590 other followers

