Skip to content

My Very Own Reading Meme…

January 22, 2008

…creatively entitled “Eva’s Reading Meme!”  I realised I hadn’t done a meme in waaaay too long, and rather than search around for one, I decided to make my own. :)  Spread it around like wildfire (bonus points for anyone who gets that reference)!

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews? For me, that would be Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I’m planning on reading some other Card soon, and I see a ton of bloggers raving about Ender’s Game, but it still sounds sooo unappealing to me. Sometimes we’re just silly like that, huh?

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be? Personally, I’d love to travel from England to India (in one of those old-fashioned sea voyages) with Henry Tilney (of Northanger Abbey, before he meets Catherine), because he’s excellent at moving in society and some nice eye candy, and if you’re going around the world, you need someone to flirt with, Mary Russell (of Laurie King’s mystery series), because she’s super-clever and knows so many languages, which would be a great help, and she’s also witty and sarcastic, so we’d have fun at dinners on the ship and she’s married and thus not competition, and Lord Peter Whimsey, because he’d also be very witty and amusing, and I think he and Mary would along well (but not too well-he’s married also), and that way just in case anyone gets killed aboard the cruise ship, it’s under control. I think we’d go in Henry Tilney’s time, since I happened to pick three very upper-crust Brits, so servants and colonies and long skirts seem most appropriate. And a voyage that lasts months will give me plenty of time to befriend everyone!

(Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realise it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave? Robinson Crusoe: this is the first book I ever gave up on (in third or fourth grade), and even now memories of it make me shudder.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it? Before my sophomore year of college, that would be Crime and Punishment: I was a Russian major, and only very close friends knew I’d never been near Dostoevsky!

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realise when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book? When I picked up The Pickwick Papers this month, I realised I hadn’t gone past the first hundred pages. And I always think I’ve read Fury by Salman Rushdie, when really I’ve read Shame. Serves Rushdie right for using all those emotions for titles!

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Advisor to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (if you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead of personalise the VIP) I think anyone but a real stick in the mud would love The Scarlet Pimpernel. :) The VIP would feel extra good for reading a classic, and the combo of adventure and romance is great!

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with? That’s a really tough one for me, since I’ve studied Russian and French and enjoyed them both. I think, though, I’d go for Japanese: I seem to really like Japanese lit, and it’d be a very, very difficult language to master the old-fashioned way.

A mischievious fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick? Pride and Prejudice, hands down. I ‘discovered’ it in seventh grade, and it’s only improved with age. :)

I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art-anything)? There’s one big genre I’ve gotten into from the book blogging community-YA lit (for some reason, it never occured to me that there was anything other than the Babysitter Club in this section of the library). And, I’m very grateful for my recent discovery of the Horatio Hornblower series, which I would have never, ever picked up if it weren’t for the Seafaring Challenge.

That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leatherbound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favourite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead-let your imagination run free. Personally, I’m a a huge fan of trade paperbacks, so in my ideal library there’d be a lot of those: the complete collections of all my favourite modern authors (see my about page), as well as (since I’m dreaming) a copy of all of the books on my 700+ wishlist. There’d also be a special section for the classics, which would be old copies that many other people had read and loved as well. :) However, I wouldn’t want any super-valuable books in my library, in case I spilled tea on them!  (Speaking of which, I’d need an outlet for my kettle, and a little table/cupboard combo for my tea stuff)  I’d absolutely love to have an inscribed edition of Northanger Abbey and Jane Austen’s personal editions of Radcliffe’s works. I’d have one of those neat ladder things that go around the room on tracks, since I’m quite short (5’3″), so I’d need help to reach the top of my beautiful built-in bookcases. There’d have be a fireplace, and a window seat in a big dormer window. One comfy armchair (no surprise!) and one really comfy couch for occasional naps. :) Oh, there’d also be a case full of audiobooks, since I really enjoy those, but only unabridged versions with narrators with nice voices! Well, I should probably cut myself off, before I spend the next two hours designing it!

And now, let’s say everyone has to tag four people (more than that becomes a hassle, imho) I tag…
Ravenous Reader
Nymeth
Megan
Emily
Of course, just because I didn’t tag you doesn’t mean I’m not really excited to read your answers. :D And just to prove it, I’m going to bribe you…if you leave a comment letting me know you’ve done the meme with a link to the post, I’ll give you some link love via a big list on this post of who’s participated. If in that post, you link back to this one, I’ll also enter you in a drawing to win my ARC of The House at Riverton (see my review below). If you’re an American, this is especially exciting since it isn’t going to published until April. ;) To be in the drawing, you must have posted the meme (and commented here) by February 5th, which is when I’m holding the drawing (it’s also my niece’s second birthday!).

See Other People’s Answers!
Ted (Bookeywookey)
Lisa (Books.Lists.Life.)
Love (Straytalk)
TY (The Lit Connection)
Emily (Telecommuter Talk)
Teen Book Review
J.S. Peyton (BiblioAddict)
3M (1 More Chapter)
Dewey (The Hidden Side of the Leaf)
Ravenous Reader (Bookstack)
Jill (The Magic Lasso)
Megan (Leafing Through Life)
Ritka (Ritka’s Ramblings)
Barbara (Greetings from Nowhere)
Sarah (Sarah Miller)
Anilee (Anilee’s Reviews)
Musings From the Sofa
Stephanie (Stephanie’s Confessions of a Book-a-holic)
Jean (Dog Ear Diary)
Amy (The Sleepy Reader)
Annie (Reading is My Superpower)
Andi (Tripping Toward Lucidity)
Chris (Book-a-Rama)
Toryssa (The Booklog)
Nicola (Back to Books)
Erin (The Paperback Stash)
Gautami (My Own Little Reading Room)
Suey (It’s All About Books)
Melissa (Book Nut)
Becky (Becky’s Book Reviews)
Susan (Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books)
Bybee (Naked Without Books!)
Jeane (Run With Scissors…and a Sword)
Jamie (Bell Literary Reflections)
Debi (Nothing of Importance)
Melody (Melody’s Reading Corner)
Petunia (Educating Petunia)
Chain Reader (Chain-Reading)
Literary Feline (Musings of a Bookish Kitty
Iliana (Bookgirl’s Nightstand)
Miss Erin
Framed (Framed and Booked)
JanieJane (So Many Book Reviews)
Raider Girl (An Adventure in Reading)
Bev (Funny the World)
Nymeth (Things Mean A Lot)
Rhinoa (Rhinoa’s Ramblings)
CJ (My Year of Reading Seriously)
Ace and Hoser (Dana)
Chain Reader (Chain Reading)
JanieJane (So Many Book Reviews)
RaiderGirl (An Adventure in Reading)
Bev (Funny the World)
Margo (Margo’s Entertainment Shelf)
Trish (Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?)
SFP (Pages Turned)
Remi (Gunner’s Miscellany)
Aarti (BookLust)
(The Reading Nook)
Johm Mutford (The Book Mine Set)
Robin (A Fondness for Reading)
Kim L (Bold.Blue.Adventure)
MsP (The Reading Life of Antipodean Owl)
Bookgal (Books, Memes, and Musings)
Sensawunda (Sense of Wonder)
Ebony (Books)
Heather (A High and Hidden Place)
Logophile (Logophilia)
Carl (Stainless Steel Droppings
Cath (read_warbler)
Marg (ReadingAdventures)
Tanabata (In Spring it is the Dawn)
Julia (Julia’s Book Corner
Sarah (Sarah’s Pensieve)
Chris (Stuff as Dreams are Made On)
Karen (Morsie Reads)
still waters
Bookfool/Nancy (Bookfoolery and Babble)
Anna (word/play)
Danielle (A Work in Progress)
Ian (Ian’s Blog II)
Nicole (WORD for Teens)
Puss Reboots
Teddy Rose (So Many Precious Books, So Little Time)
Susan Higginbotham(Reading, Raving, and Ranting by a Historical Fiction Writer)
Caroline (Books + Tea =<3)
Quixotic (Quixotical)
Coversgirl (Between the Covers)
Rich (Dick-o’s Deep Thoughts)
Lenneth (Foxy Writer)
Danielle (Hoshichan.com)
Melanie (The Indextrious Reader)
Darl (Nichtszusagen)
Dorothy (Of Books and Bicycles)
Amateur Reader(Wuthering Expectations)
Literary-Chic (Words, Words)
Susan Flynn (You Can Never Have Too Many Books)
Cdn Reader(The Between-Place)
Taminator (Under a Blood Red Sky)
Kara (Biblio-File)

118 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 9:02 am

    Awesome Meme, Eva :D I loved reading your answers…especially your perfect library as it nearly matches mine perfectly and sounds amazing! I definitely have to do this one…it’s too much fun, the good fairy is calling me! And cringing at Ender’s Game? For shame! Kidding of course. I can understand that. It’s very “overtalked about” and the blurb and premise can come off as sounding uninteresting, but in my opinion it’s a book that just has to be read. And it’s his sequels that work much better than Ender’s Game for me personally. Great job again on the meme!

  2. January 22, 2008 9:38 am

    Oooh, well I never turn down a good, bookish meme. I will get my answers done soon!

  3. January 22, 2008 9:43 am

    Well…. if there is a bribe involved I’m sure I can swing it…

    Just kidding. I will work on this one as soon as I get home from work. Sigh. If only that wasn’t 6 hours away.

  4. January 22, 2008 1:14 pm

    I was all set to do this meme myself even before I saw the bribe! I actually scrolled down after two questions to see if I was tagged, but I knew I’d do it anyway. I’ll be back to let you know when I do it.

    Your library sounds so welcoming!

  5. January 22, 2008 1:55 pm

    Here I am completely snowed in on Leslie Howard for the night, and you go and mention The Scarlet Pimpernel (which he played on screen) and Lord Peter Wimsey (who I always imagined to look like Leslie Howard). Go figure!

    Also on the subject of Lord Peter Wimsey, I’m actually about to go lie down with Whose Body? now, before going to sleep.

    As for Robinson Crusoe, that’s the first longer book I can remember finishing in a single sitting when I was about eight or nine. Of course, I’ve later found that it was a reworked version of the story. I’ve read the original too, later on, and I must say I liked the edited version better.

    Pride & Prejudice — the only book I own four copies of, the first book I read in English, the first book I read in French, and the only book I’ve read in three languages. Like it? Me? Naaah. ;D

    Long comment this time, but there were just so many things to comment on! I’ll definitely post the meme on my blog in the next couple of days — those were some great questions.

  6. January 22, 2008 4:40 pm

    Like Dewey, I woulda done it anyway! Very fun meme. I’m not sure how long it will take me to answer but I will definitely do it!

  7. January 22, 2008 5:27 pm

    Chris, thanks so much! I knew you’d call me on cringing at Ender’s Game. Note that I acknowledge how irrational it was. ;)

    Emily, yay!

    Kim, I’ll look forward to your answers. :)

    Dew, I wanted to tag people that I hadn’t tagged before….really, I wanted to tag my entire blogroll, but I figured that might set a weird precedent. ;)

    Love, so many coincidences! My favourite Lord Wimsey’s are Murder Must Advertise and Gaudy Night. My library has a collection of short stories featuring him that I want to grab up soon. Glad to see another P&P admirer! And I’ll look out for your answers. :D

    Ted, yay-I’m sure you’ll have really good answers!

  8. January 22, 2008 6:07 pm

    Eva, these are excellent questions, and it will be challenging to provide answers as interesting as yours.
    I’ll put my thinking cap on, though, and see what I can come up with.

    By the way, you could charge admission into your dream library – it’s the pinnacle of perfection for readers!

  9. January 22, 2008 10:29 pm

    Not only am I going to do this meme, I’m going to take it to my book group next time and see what answers they come up with. Well done, Eva…give yourself a pat on the back with your page-turning hand!

  10. verbivore permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:22 pm

    Great meme, I am in. Might take me a few days! So I will come back and let you know when its up.

  11. January 23, 2008 9:57 am

    Count me in. My answers should be up sometime this afternoon. This will be my very first meme!

  12. January 23, 2008 10:26 am

    I just posted mine here:

    http://bookslistslife.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html

    and I’m tagging all the other readers at my group blog:

    http://ratherread.wordpress.com

  13. January 23, 2008 11:05 am

    Ravenous Reader, charging admission wouldn’t be very readerly, would it?! ;) I look forward to your answers-I’m sure they’ll be fascinating!

    Bybee, awww-thanks so much. You made my morning!

    Ted, great!

    TY, awesome! Memes are so addictive…for awhile, I was doing quite a few, but then they seemed to fade away.

    Lisa, thanks so much for spreading the word!

  14. January 23, 2008 11:07 am

    Lord Peter and Mary do get along well—remember the duke’s son from A Letter of Mary?

  15. January 23, 2008 11:41 am

    Poodlerat, No I don’t…I’ll have to reread that one. :) Is it supposed to be Lord Peter? I knew I loved Laurie King!!

  16. January 23, 2008 1:47 pm

    I answered the meme (here). Woohoo! =D

    And Murder Must Advertise is my favourite too, as well as the first of them that I read (though I don’t think that’s the reason it is my favourite).

  17. January 23, 2008 2:21 pm

    I just posted my meme: http://thelitconnection.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/a-striped-armchair-reading-meme/

    First meme experience: awesome! I had a lot of fun. Challenging and creative questions. I’m glad I started my meme initiation with you Eva!

  18. January 23, 2008 9:09 pm

    Great meme :-) I’ve posted my answers at http://teenbookreview.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/evas-reading-meme/.

  19. January 24, 2008 2:21 pm

    Back here to say if anyone’s interested, you can read my answers here http://emilybarton.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html. But I’m finding reading everyone else’s answers far more interesting!

  20. January 24, 2008 3:03 pm

    My meme is done and posted here :

    http://ravenousreader.wordpress.com/2008/01/24/hmmm-let-me-see/

    I’m off to read everyone else’s now!

  21. January 24, 2008 4:49 pm

    Good one! I’ll be back after I do mine.

  22. January 24, 2008 5:56 pm

    I got tagged for this but didn’t know it was a contest until I read Dewey’s answers!

    http://superfastreader.com/the-smartest-book-meme-in-town.htm

  23. January 24, 2008 9:30 pm

    Love, isn’t that cricket scene incredible?!

    TY, aww-I’m blushing. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Teenbookreview, thanks so much!

    Emily, yay!

    Ravenous Reader, I enjoyed reading it. :)

    Chris, I’m glad you liked it.

    Annie, I followed the link, but it said it wasn’t there. And I can’t find it on your blog. Maybe it’s in a draft?

  24. January 25, 2008 1:29 am

    Hi Eva! Stephanie tagged me. Anyway, mine’s up! ;)

  25. January 25, 2008 1:31 am

    Well, how cool. To have started your own meme!! And yes, I am up (but of course, you already know that!!) I am now linked back to you too!

  26. January 25, 2008 4:14 am

    Hi, Eva: Thanks for coming by! I already have the ARC of The House at Riverton, so please don’t enter me in the drawing.

    Amy at Sleepy Reader also posted your meme: http://sleepyreader.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html

    Take care,
    Jill

  27. January 25, 2008 7:23 am

    Wooonderful meme! I did it at http://estellasrevenge.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html

    You need to make up another one sometime! That was fun!

  28. January 25, 2008 10:35 am

    I’ve just done it, as well! http://toryssa.com/booklog/2008/01/25/a-book-meme/

  29. January 25, 2008 10:43 am

    I posted my answers, but I only tagged 3 people. Hope that’s ok!

  30. January 25, 2008 10:45 am

    I was tagged by Ravenous Reader. Thanks for this great meme.

    You can read mine here:
    Fairy Tale Questions!

  31. January 25, 2008 11:57 am

    I got tagged by Becky; my answers are here

  32. January 25, 2008 12:14 pm

    This was a fun meme. Here’s the link to mine.

  33. January 25, 2008 12:39 pm

    Great meme, I love the questions you came up with, Eva. This is the first time I’ve done a meme outside of Booking Through Thursday; it was lots of fun.

  34. Susan permalink
    January 25, 2008 2:34 pm

    This was a lot of fun, Eva. My answers are at blogginboutbooks.blogspot.com/2008/01/meme-about-booksand-fairies.html .

  35. January 25, 2008 2:51 pm

    Melody, great!

    Stephanie, thanks. :)

    Jill, no problem-I enjoy reading other people’s answers! Thanks for the link to Amy.

    Andi, thanks so much! I was a little nervous about posting it, lol, in case people were like “What the F?”

    Toryssa, great!

    Nicola, that’s fine. Thanks for playing!

    Gautami, you’re welcome-glad you enjoyed it. :)

    Melissa, yay!

    Becky, thanks!

    Jeane, I’m glad you had fun. :)

    Susan, great! I’ll go visit and add you to the link list. :D

  36. January 25, 2008 3:48 pm

    I came over to tell you I’d posted my answers but you already have my name on the board. You’re good!

  37. January 25, 2008 9:08 pm

    Great questions Eva. I just did mine!

    http://www.bookgirl.net/?p=753

  38. January 25, 2008 11:10 pm

    oooh great answers too. I would like your library as well to visit.

  39. January 25, 2008 11:50 pm

    Petunia, I try! WordPress tells me when other blogs link to mine. ;)

    Framed, glad you enjoyed it!

    Erin, thanks!

    Iliana, great!

    Erin, you’re welcome any time! :D

  40. January 26, 2008 3:09 am

    Here are my answers. I love this meme!

  41. January 26, 2008 7:55 am

    I just did mine, thanks for the meme!

  42. January 26, 2008 11:57 am

    Cool meme! My answers are up!

    cjh

  43. January 26, 2008 12:50 pm

    I am having so much fun reading everyone’s memes that it’s taking away from my reading time! I am taking note of everyone’s book they choose to read each year and adding them to my TBR list!

  44. January 26, 2008 2:53 pm

    I just posted mine! :-)

  45. January 26, 2008 5:39 pm

    Great questions, and I copied your Henry Tilman answer since he made such an impression in the movie Sunday night. He was absolutely perfect.
    Here you go: http://raidergirl3-anadventureinreading.blogspot.com/2008/01/meme-evas-excellent-meme.html

  46. Poodlerat permalink
    January 26, 2008 6:18 pm

    It is supposed to be Lord Peter, although she never mentions him by name (she does mention the monacle, though—and his “bad war”.) Unfortunately, Sayers’s estate requested that she not include him any further, as he’s still under copyright or what have you. So we won’t see him and Mary together again, alas.

    But yes, there are so many reasons to love Laurie King, aren’t there?

  47. January 26, 2008 6:45 pm

    Here’s my contribution. It was a fun meme to do:

    http://www.funnytheworld.com/2008/Jan/27.htm

  48. January 27, 2008 5:38 am

    Here’s my answers :) I really enjoyed taking part in this.

    http://bookisland.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-book-meme.html

  49. January 27, 2008 12:58 pm

    Great meme, Eva. I enjoyed doing it and I’m still enjoying reading everyone else’s answers.

    http://pagesturned.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-meme.html

  50. January 27, 2008 2:53 pm

    Hi Eva, Great Meme. My answers are here http://bookmineset.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html and I know that, based on one of yours above, I’m going to be in trouble. Sorry!

  51. January 27, 2008 7:13 pm

    I was voluntold to do this by Mr. Mutford. The fun questions made it easy.

    My answers are here:

    http://gunnersmiscellany.blogspot.com/2008/01/taking-up-challenge.html

  52. January 27, 2008 8:52 pm

    I just did this one, too- wow, it’s making its way very quickly through the ranks, isn’t it? :-) Great fun to do- thanks for creating it!

    http://aartichapati.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-book-meme.html

  53. January 27, 2008 10:57 pm

    Nymeth, great!

    Rhinoa, no problem!

    CJH, glad you enjoyed it. :)

    Chain Reader, I’ve been doing that too!

    Janiejane, great!

    RaiderGirl, he was perfect.

    Poodlerat, that’s so interesting! I really want to reread the whole series this year. :D

    Bev, I’m glad you had fun!

    Margo, thanks for participating!

    SFP, thanks!

    John, thanks! And I’ll forigve you fro the P&P thing. ;) I know it’s not for everyone. :)

    Remi, thanks so much!

    Aarti, it is moving pretty fast! I can barely keep up.

  54. January 27, 2008 11:28 pm

    Nymeth tagged me in her blog and I just had to visit your because I had fun answering the questions.

  55. verbivore permalink
    January 28, 2008 3:05 am

    Whew – quite a list here! I just put my list up. Thanks for the fun meme!

  56. January 28, 2008 8:18 am

    What a great meme! I was tagged by Verbivore at Incurable Logophilia and it was the perfect Monday lunchtime thing. So much fun reading your answers . Now that I’ve done my list I’ll browse through some more people’s answers. Here’s my list: http://logophilia-logophile.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html

  57. January 28, 2008 2:10 pm

    I’ve had fun reading everyone’s answers. Great meme!

  58. January 28, 2008 2:20 pm

    What a fun meme, Eva! Here are my responses:

    http://fondnessforreading.blogspot.com/2008/01/snow-day-and-evas-reading-meme.html

  59. January 28, 2008 3:49 pm

    Hey Eva, this is the first meme I’ve ever done, and I had a blast pondering over my answers! Here are my responses http://antipodeanowl.blogspot.com

  60. January 28, 2008 5:41 pm

    This was a really fun one! Thanks for creating it.

  61. January 28, 2008 6:13 pm

    Lightheaded, thanks! I’m glad you had fun. :)

    Verbivore, I’ll add you!

    Logophilia, so glad it made lunchtime better. :) Enjoy reading everyone else’s answers!

    Ebony, thanks!

    Robin, glad you enjoyed it!

    Kim, great!

    Cass, I’m so glad!

    Bookgal, you’re welcome! I look forward to reading your answers. :)

  62. January 28, 2008 9:02 pm

    Can I play, too? Here are my answers:

    http://saepensieve.blogspot.com/2008/01/reading-meme.html

  63. January 28, 2008 10:08 pm

    Loved your meme Eva :) I finally did it! here’s my link: http://chrisa511.blogspot.com/2008/01/im-back-again-and-evas-reading-meme.html

  64. January 29, 2008 12:46 am

    I had a lot of fun with this! My answers are here:

    http://read-warbler.blogspot.com/2008/01/ive-been-tagged-susan-at-bloggin-bout.html

    Thanks for creating the meme. :-)

  65. January 29, 2008 3:19 am

    Mine’s done! You can read it here

  66. January 29, 2008 8:58 am

    Just posted mine which you can find here. Some hard questions but it’s been fun reading everyone’s answers.

  67. January 29, 2008 11:46 am

    Hi! A friend of mine tagged me for this meme. So here I am. I hope everyone have a good day!
    Here Mine!

    Julia – Yen

  68. January 29, 2008 5:33 pm

    Here’s mine.

    Thanks so much for putting this fantastic set of questions together.

  69. January 30, 2008 5:51 am

    Hi Eva,

    I really liked your meme. Very interesting questions!

    My answers can be found at http://sparrow52.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/reading-meme/.

  70. January 30, 2008 8:34 pm

    I had a blast doing this meme! You should do this more often. :)

    Here are my answers:

    http://bookfoolery.blogspot.com/2008/01/weird-conversations-meme-cost-of-prayer.html

  71. January 30, 2008 11:08 pm

    Sarah, of course you can!

    Chris, thanks! Good to see you back. :)

    Cath, glad you enjoyed it!

    Marg, great!

    Tanabata, I’ve had fun reading everyone’s answers as well. :)

    Julia, thanks!

    Karen, you’re welcome!

    Sparrow, I’m glad you liked it. :)

    Nancy, thanks so much! I doubt I’ll be doing it for awhile, since it’s taken a lot of time to keep track of all the participants. I didn’t expect this many!

  72. January 31, 2008 10:15 am

    Hi Eva!

    Have answered your meme, and you can read my answers here!

  73. January 31, 2008 2:54 pm

    I’ve been tagged by Love and here are my answers: http://tinybook.net/2008/01/31/evas-reading-meme/ . It was a really fun meme! :)

  74. teddyrose permalink
    January 31, 2008 9:28 pm

    Great Meme Eva! I didn’t even know what a meme was until I was Aarti tagged me for this one. LOL! It was fun!

    Teddy
    So Many Precious Books, So Little Time

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/

  75. February 1, 2008 2:50 am

    Quixotic, great!

    Caroline, I’m glad you thought it was fun!

    Susan, thanks!

    TeddyRose, hehe-I still don’t know what ‘meme’ stands for, but I’m glad you liked it. :)

  76. February 1, 2008 5:26 pm

    Hey Eva, My friend, Literacy-Chic did this one too: http://nmara77.blogspot.com/2008/01/another-book-meme.html

  77. February 1, 2008 10:46 pm

    I love this meme! Mine is posted over at my website now. It was fun to do! thanks and hope you are having a good weekend.

  78. February 2, 2008 8:04 pm

    Hello, I just found your meme while browsing book blogs. I had a lot of fun filling in my own answers here: http://bookloversjournal.blogspot.com/2008/02/evas-book-meme-my-answers.html

  79. February 3, 2008 7:03 pm

    Thanks so much…this was really fun! I’ve tagged four and am waiting to see what they post. My answers are at http://www.taminator40.blogspot.com

  80. February 4, 2008 4:43 am

    A great meme, Eva. My answers are here: http://betweenplace.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/a-reading-meme/

  81. February 4, 2008 8:53 am

    The Incurable Logophile sent me your fine questions. Here are my cantankerous answers:

    http://wutheringexpectations.blogspot.com/2008/02/kind-reader-sends-along-proust.html

    Please do not include me in the drawing.

  82. February 4, 2008 7:15 pm

    Had to join in on this meme, Eva. Entertaining and thought-provoking questions, and it’s been fun going through everybody’s answers. I’ve put mine up, finally.

  83. February 4, 2008 8:53 pm

    A little late, but here are my answers: http://hoshichan.com/2008/02/04/bookish-meme/

  84. February 6, 2008 5:09 pm

    Ok, last minute but still on time! Here are my answers: http://heatherlo.wordpress.com/2008/02/06/evas-meme/

  85. May 29, 2008 12:37 am

    Okay I’m really late into the game on this one but I searched for memes and found this one and I LOVE IT.
    http://pagenumbered.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/bestest-book-meme/ <<mine

  86. April 27, 2009 9:23 am

    I just read Robinson Crusoe and loved it….maybe it’s a stage thing. I can’t imagine reading it in 3rd or 4th grade, but as an adult I loved the wordy-prose and adventure of survival story!

  87. May 27, 2009 5:22 pm

    It took me a year and a half but I’ve finally done your Meme. :-)

    I love your site.

    The completed Meme’s here:

    http://notinthepink.blogspot.com/2009/05/today-ive-had-pleasure-of-coming-across.html

Trackbacks

  1. Eva’s Reading Meme! at Stray Talk
  2. The Lucky Life…and a Meme « BiblioAddict
  3. Hmmm, Let Me See… « Bookstack
  4. Eva’s meme » the hidden side of a leaf
  5. 1morechapter.com » Blog Archive » Eva’s meme
  6. The Smartest Book Meme in Town
  7.   A book meme by the booklog
  8. researchgirl : parse » Easily entertained - volume 2
  9. Eva’s Reading Meme « Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?
  10. My First Meme « The Reading Nook
  11. Eva’s Reading Meme « A High and Hidden Place
  12. The Smartest Book Meme in Town « Sense of Wonder
  13. Stainless Steel Droppings » Tuesday Tag
  14. Cameron Highlands Pictures « A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook
  15. Making My Day
  16. Foxy Writer - A Weblog on Writing and Fantasy Literature. » A Reading Meme
  17. A Reading Meme « The Between-Place
  18. The Lost Boys (thoughts) « A Striped Armchair
  19. Eva’s Meme « Book Addiction
  20. Booky Ooky! » Blog Archive » Eva's Reading Meme FINALLY
  21. Eva’s Meme « She Reads Books
  22. Eva’s Meme « She Reads Books
  23. The Bookshelf Meme « A Striped Armchair
  24. Eva’s Meme | She Reads Books

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 584 other followers

